We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Airport Travelodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2012

the manager on duty has terrible customer service skills. She is unfriendly and very unhelpful. The hotel needs new management. The room had bugs in it. They added extra charges to our bill without our consent. We didn't see the charges until they appeared on the bill. The management team would not even look into the issue. They left us with the following statement... "all charges are added at the managers discretion" When asking the manager to address the issue... She completely refused to inquire. I stay at hotels on Victoria island at least once a month, I would recommend choosing another hotel.

Room Tip: check your bill at checkout and don't be surprised if they've added extra charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainlandBurnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Victoria Airport Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

From your posting you obviously felt you were not treated fairly by our management and you were upset with the extra charges and mentioned, "bugs in your room". I investigated your complaints and spoke with all the staff involved. The manager you spoke with did try to explain the reason for the extra charges was because you booked two rooms with two people in each room but during your stay it was observed and noted by housekeeping and front desk staff who were delivering the requested multiple, extra towels to each room that there were 4 to 6 people in each room. And it was also observed during the service of our free Continental Breakfast at your check out day that there were at least 6 to 8 people in your group. Therefore, we applied a standard extra person charge of 2 per room to account for the additional people using the hotel services. As for the bugs you mentioned in your posting I don't have any record of you bringing it to our attention during your stay. If you had we would have immediately inspected your room and taken the appropriate action. But on our inspection of the room after reading your posting, we could not find anything in either of the rooms to show there were insects. I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay at our hotel but when you book a hotel room next time, to avoid this type of misunderstanding please ensure all the information is correct.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Travelodge is near the first public transit stop from the Tsawwassen Ferry dock, at 5th and Beacon in Sidney, BC. It has large, functional rooms in a 2-4 storey traditional motel ambiance on the main East-West street, about 6 amenity-packed blocks from the waterfront on the one side - and very close to Victoria Airport, on the other. It is across the street from the modern convention centre, next to a local shopping centre. It offers a pleasant alternative to downtown Victoria, which is about a half hour trip by good local bus service.

Continental breakfast is included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Guests might consider the pleasure of eating breakfast at poolside in the central courtyard. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The premises is starting to show its age. The front desk/ reception are was friendly and efficient.
The room was clean and adequate. Just remember its the Travelodge. You're about 10 minutes away from the airport by car.
If you have time, walk eastward down Beacon Ave. Theres a few interesting shops and restaurants nearby.
There is a complimentary continental breakfast available. I just grabbed a muffin on the way out, so i won't be able to comment on the rest of items.
Personally, i thought it was abit pricey for this place. But it was a last minute booking, so i get whats available. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you can park near the front . Its not as well light in the back and there seems to be alot of tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ba11istic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found the hotel clean, comfortable and accommodating. When we arrived Chris showed us two rooms to choose from, the one we booked on line and one he felt would be more suitable for our needs. He chose to move to the one Chris suggested and greatful for the offer and it showed us he really was concerned for our comfort. The pool garden was wonderful place for morning coffee. After we came back from the Butchard gardens we floated around the pool to cool off, just what these old bones needed.

Only suggestion would be for the hotel to info people of their check in times. The last morning we were there a group was trying to check in around 9am filling the lobby, complaining loudly about how people needed to check out so they could get ready for a wedding. This made us very uncomfortable and ruined what was otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosey68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was one of those hotel experiences that left you feeling very ho hum. When we checked in the person at reception imparted no information other than the number of the room and directions for how to get there. No information about wifi, the complimentary breakfast, the fact that you need to ask there for pool towels, etc. The room itself had a very unpleasant smell - stale, musty, very unpleasant. It was a non-smoking room but the large number of fresh cigarette butts outside the window ledge say otherwise. The carpet was filthy, with stains everywhere. The bathroom was none too clean either; and there were some dodgy looking stains on the back of the door that had escaped the cleaner. The beds were comfortable enough. The box spring is bare which does not look very professional. We did not have enough towels in the room but eventually more were brought to us. The bathroom comes equipped with makeup remover, a sewing kit, shampoo, but no conditioner. When we phoned to ask for some we were told that they do not supply it, so make sure you bring your own. The breakfast is basic but not bad. There was a kitchenette in the room that could be verry useful and it seemed well equipped with the basics. While the hotel was well-priced at around $100 per night I would not recommend it because the room was not very clean. Also, if you are looking for something a bit fancy, this is not it - it is painted in shades of pumpkin, bright orange and pea and the front desk staff seemed quite indifferent to us as guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Victoria Airport Travelodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. What I take from your posting is that we failed on two fronts, our housekeeping and our customer service,but you did feel that we offered good value for the rate. I would like to apologize to you for the housekeeping mistakes and the poor customer service you received from the front desk staff. We do have a dedicated team at our hotel and the staff work hard to ensure we deliver on our high standard of housekeeping and customer service but we obviously failed to deliver it on this occasion. The staff and myself will be taking your comments and we will use them to improve our operation so we do not make the same mistakes again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Spent 12 nights here... 7 with 4 gals in the room for a conference.. very small room but we managed.My husband and I had plenty room the rest of the time. So very clean and convenient and a lovely pool.Am not a fan of A/C but didn't mind it too much.Most of the staff were friendly , Chris stands out from the rest for making us feel welcome .This is not a luxury hotel but an added suggestion was left by me to have ice water available to the guests in the lobby..Breakfast was adequate.I would return .......Sidney is a wonderful spot to rest and relax...bus service excellent as well as hotel shuttle......

Room Tip: Suites are bigger .. We were on the front overlooking the street but not noisy even with the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 154976judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our softball team stayed here for 1 night June 23rd. The hotel was very clean , the rooms were spotless. There girls were able to walk to the water and through the town very safely. In town for a night or two, I would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smithfamily64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Airport Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Airport Travelodge

Address: 2280 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Airport Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main street of Sidney, just minutes from the Victoria Int. Airport and the main BC Ferry Terminal with free shuttle service to both. All our rooms have fridges & microwaves or we have kitchenette rooms for long term stays as well as pet friendly rooms. And please enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast and seasonal outdoor heated pool while staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Airport Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Travelodge Sidney
Travel Lodge Sidney
Sidney Travel Lodge
Sidney Travelodge
Travelodge Hotel Victoria Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing