We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Campbell River, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went for a nice Holiday for the weekend and normally stay in Sooke but this time decided to stay in Sidney as we were going to Buchart Gardens , we found the hotel very nice and clean and centrally located within walking distance to a lot of things we wanted to do , Spectacular city with a lot of nice sights. Look forward to spending another weekend at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here. Sidney, is a great destination for weekends away. Look forward to our Family Day events coming in February, Sidney will be a very exciting place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    138
    50
    11
    6
See reviews for
96
126
29
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Although the staff and service are friendly and good, this hotel is over rated, the furnishings, carpets and overall decor are dated and worn. The saving grace are the staff and the fact that it is relatively clean. I was disappointed as I had expected a PLUS catagory hotel which was the reason I selected to stay there, instead I was in an older, worn hotel paying PLUS price. The resaurant staff are very friendly, however the food was very greasy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jvcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and the accolades for our staff. We are very proud of what they do! I regret your were disappointed with your stay. We are planning for upgrades to the hotel this winter and are finalizing those plans. We have a mock up room completed and we are happy to show it off. I look forward to welcoming you back to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean and quiet hotel. Very friendly staff that have a knack with faces and names to make you feel at home when you've stayed a few times. The rooms are standard with decent beds, some of the rooms haven't had tv's updated but still are flat screen. Whenever I am in Victoria for work I stay here in Sidney and will keep coming back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchmanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for comments, and your return visits! We are very proud of our staff and their relationships with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband has mobility issues and uses a walker so we asked to be accomodated in one of the handicapped suites. This was on the ground floor so no need to manoevre in and out of the elevator. The bathroom had lots of room to move around with grab bars strategically placed by the toilet and bathtub/shower. It was a short walk to the restaurant - no need to go outside. All the staff were courteous and helpful. From the hotel it was easy to explore the town, drive out to Butchart Gardens and drive into Victoria. We will definitely return to this Best Western again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear how you enjoyed the hotel and the highlights of Sidney and the Saanich Peninsula. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is Ok for a nights rest but it needs some updating and I am not sure why it received Best Western Plus status.The service again was ok but not noteworthy.The beds were very comfortable which is the redeeming factor for this hotel,It's not awful but it needs upgrading for sure.There are better options in Sidney IMHO on the waterfront

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We are currently preparing for upgrades to the hotel, to be completed this winter. We are starting with Smitty's Restaurant in December! We look forward to welcoming you back to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our second stay at this Best Western motel. It is a bit of a through back to motels you might have experienced in the 1960s and 70s; not that that is a bad thing. There have always been good, better and best examples of everything and I would put this facility into the "best" category.

The motel is well maintained. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are clean and large - except for the bath room which is a touch cramped. The Wi-Fi worked well. And our room had a fridge and microwave.

I enjoyed a soak in the hotels hot tub.

There is no swimming pool, but I didn't go to Sidney to swim.

The attached restaurant offers 25% off on breakfast for hotel guests.

As far as location goes, all you need to say is that it is in Sidney, a pleasant little town s few miles north of Victoria and close to the airport and BC and WA state ferries. While the hotel really doesn't offer views, it is a short walk to the water front where you can watch ships and boats weave through the islands just off shore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OccasionalJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the Best Western Emerald Isle and your stay in Sidney. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and your time in our seaside town. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent guest services, excellent staff and excellent rooms. Would prefer a different restaurant than the independent restaurant attached to the hotel, but this was not really an issue for us. The location is very convenient to other local facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SHOCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us in Sidney. We looki forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
151 reviews
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing