We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, with a greater location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everything we needed was within a few short blocks walk. There was no reason to use a car! It was an absolute pleasure not to drive. Beacon avenue is quite busy, limited parking. So leaving the car at the motel was a benefit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel's location. Everything you may want for a visit is close by or within walking distance. We are part of a great destination that is "Distinctly Sidney"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel was very convenient--very close to the ferry and not very far from Victoria. We were within walking distance of grocery stores, shops, and restaurants. The waterfront is close and is a beautiful area for a walk. We really enjoyed Sidney!! The hotel was very pretty, clean, and quiet. Our beds were comfortable and the suite was spacious. The internet connection was better than most. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We used the fitness room--the only complaints--it was a little warm with the hot tub in the same room and it would have been nice to have a TV available. There is not a complimentary breakfast. We chose not to eat at Smitties next door, but walked to a near-by café for breakfast. Smitties stayed pretty busy, though. If we're ever in the area, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015

Thank you so very much for the great review, Sidney is such an amazing Town, the people, the Ocean, the beautiful stores and restaurants and of course our great Best Western PLUS Hotel.

We hope you return again very soon,

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean, pretty and in a good location. But missing all the amenities that the others have. No pool, hot tub still out of order, no breakfast but if you ask you will get 25% off at the Smitties next door. Wouldn't bother coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgenSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Please accept my apologies for not communicating the 25% discount off to our guests in Smitty's. The discount is a favourite for our guests letting them choose the breakfast they want, made to order. The hot tub is "repaired"....kids wanting to make bubbles with hand soap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

my 2nd time staying here. Great beds. Very friendly people. Love the BW standards !
get a room over looking the parking lot- quieter than the street side.
walking distance to just about everything in the town center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015

5 STARS and wonderful comments, thank you so very much, we are so pleased you had a nice visit and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

One of the very best Best Westerns. This hotel has that rarest of all amenities – a ceiling light that actually lights the room very well. The annex rooms are spacious and quiet. The bathroom apparently was redone recently in 1960s style (straight shower rod, round toilet seat) with lots of chrome. The facilities are beyond super-clean to shiny sparkle. Attractive grounds and adequate parking. A grocer, drug store, and liquor outlet are just across the street. Beacon Street is a pleasant walk for 700 meters down to the waterfront. Plenty of places to eat on Beacon, including the superb Beacon Landing Restaurant and most will be better that the Smitty's Restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay and the beauty of Sidney. We are all very proud of what we have to offer and experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Hotel was clean, our room was well appointed and we didn't have any issues. Front desk staff were helpful. We had several rooms booked for a nearby funeral. This hotel served our purposes well. The Smitty's on site was a handy place to have breakfast. It would have been nice to have access to a conference room for family meetings.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank kevinleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015

Thank you for the nice review and we appreciate your business. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location between the Swartz Bay and Anacortas ferry docks. Not far from Buchart Gardens. Nice, large room with 2 separate sinks outside bathroom. Had end room with 2 large windows, plus bay window. Planning to stay there again when we return for visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for choosing us for your stay in Sidney. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: $117 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing