We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as any at the price near to Victoria and the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“As good as any at the price near to Victoria and the ferry”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is in the small seaside town of Sidney only a few miles from the ferry to Vancouver and Butchart Gardens.The hotel is in a quiet position but also on the main street within walking distance of shops and restaurants,
I had a king room in the new block, very spacious, clean, all you could want. The only improvement would be a large flat screen tv. There is a small gym in the new block which also has a spa and sauna.
There is a family restaurant on site which is licenced, and provides standard food.

Room Tip: Book a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2015
Thank you for the % STAR review, we love those and we love happy guests, please come back again soon, thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    127
    47
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
118
27
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during the first half of May.
Our stay was in the lodge building which is across from the main building/lobby. The room was good size, well maintained and very clean although somewhat dark even with the curtains open. It was good to have 2 armchairs provided in the room.
The hotel adjoins a Smitty's restaurant where you can use a coupon for 25% off breakfast - no complimentary breakfast served at the hotel itself, neither did there appear to be any coffee/tea provided in the lobby as at so many other hotels we have stayed at. There is a computer for public use in the lobby and this had a good connection speed.
From the hotel it ia an easy walk to the centre of Sidney where there is a good choice of restaurants (several ooverlooking the water), plenty of individual shops and a pleasant waterfront boardwalk.
Checking in and out were trouble free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2015
Sidney and our great Hotel is 10 minutes from the Ferry, 5 minutes to the Airport, 30 minute drive to Victoria, 10 minutes to Butchart Gardens, minutes to the Sidney Pier and Ocean, we have it all, come visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We spent a night here last week. Check in and check out were smooth, staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, and very clean. Be sure you ask for the discount in the restaurant. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, and for choosing us on your recent trip to Sidney-by-the-Sea.

It is through comments such as yours that ensure us we are continuing to accomplish our goal of creating an extraordinary experience for every guest who stays with us. We hope to see you again on another trip to lovely Sidney! Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,

Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We usually do not like to stay at Best Westerns, because of previous bad experiences with Best Western franchise’s hotels/motels. Stayed overnight here for we needed to catch the ferry to Vancouver next morning (this motel is only minutes away from the BC Ferries Terminal). The room was large, clean, and quite comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ISL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear ISL101,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I am glad our location was helpful for your ferry travels and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With warm regards,

Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently travelled to Victoria for a visit to Butchart Garden and the Victoria harbour area. We stayed at the Emerald Isle which was very convenient for our visit to the Gardens. The room was very nice and the hotel staff were very friendly. They have an on site restaurant with a family friendly menu. Overall very wonderful.

Room Tip: This hotel has pet friendly rooms and ones that are not. I have an alergy to some pets so was very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Mr.Hay from Nanaimo,BC.
Sincere thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to be able to accommodate you in our non-pet building, and that you enjoyed Sidney-by-the-Sea. The Butchart Gardens during the Christmas season are truly a wonderful experience.
Through comments such as yours we learn that we are accomplishing our goal of meeting and exceeding our Guest's expectations. Thank you again for taking the time and we hope to see you again soon!
Yours truly,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Clean, quiet, and lush for a good price. With 25% off at Smittys Restaurant for breakfast, this is where you want to hang your hat for a night.

Room Tip: ask for instructions on how to use the alarm clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luscious163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Vancouver, Canada. Sincere thanks for your kind comments of our hotel. We so appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was fortunate enough to spend a few nights at this hotel at the beginning and the end of my stay in Sidney. The front desk staff were very efficient and friendly, even after I changed my reservations (extended my stay, was having such a fantastic time) No hassels ! The rooms were very neat, tidy and clean. All the staff had a smile on their face, which was nice to see. Convienently located near the airport and a 5 minute walk to the ocean. Awesome !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solotravellinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Greetings from Sidney-by-the-Sea! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and in our charming seaside town. We pride ourselves on maintaining high standards at our property, and it is so nice to be assured we are getting it right! We have a great Team here, with many long term staff - we like to feel we are hosting our Guests in our own homes. Thank you again for taking the time, it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
16.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing