We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“totally overpriced, no sea view....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“totally overpriced, no sea view....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

well we arrived tired and hungry after getting on the ferry etc., so though we wouldn't drive loads so chose to go to Sidney. I think there were only 2 places you could stay in this town and Sydney Waterfront was where we found ourselves anyway, we had the cheapest room which was nearly $200 not up for any sort of discount, this wasn't for a deluxe seaview, we got to look at the side of the local supermarket, the guy also handed us a basket with breakfast, juice, apple and a frozen frisbee which looked totally disgusting. The room despite the lack of view was comfortable and shower was fine, that's really all you need but this was too much to pay, obviously can charge what they like as think the only other accomodation was a 'great western' which was probably more i expect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    105
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
107
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

My sister and I spent four nights at the Sidney Waterfront. We asked for a standard waterfront room but they were all booked. So they offered us a deluxe waterfront room in the Cannery Bldg at the corporate rate which made it possible for us. The accomodations were very pleasant. Our room overlooked the waterfront walkway and the small beach. The location was perfect as you can walk comfortably to much of Sidney's commerce center. The service was gracious as well. I would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floatinhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

The hotel staff were very pleasant and attentive to ensuring my stay was enjoyable, which it was. The room was clean and tidy, with a refrigerator and a microwave. A small balcony large enough for a table and chairs overlooking the water was a bonus. Walking trails and piers right outside the hotel provided instant access to the waterfront. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zirkminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

This was my third stay at Sidney Waterfront Inn - all for only 1 or 2 days. I haven't stayed in the older part, but the Cannery building is fabulous! The bathroom has both a walk-in shower and a big jetted tub from which you can see the ocean! I love the little balcony and have spent some of each stay there wrapped up in a blanket enjoying tea and a good book from a deck chair. It was totally quiet and peaceful. The new flat screen TV's have a built-in DVD player, so I was able to watch a movie in bed with the fireplace on - so cozy. My room had a king-size bed and a queen-size hide-a-bed along with kitchen, fireplace, table & chairs, and coffee table. The included breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was healthy and adequate (juice, fruit, frozen breakfast quesadilla).

The staff was quite helpful and let me in early (1:00 p.m.) so I was able to enjoy my full day there. Dinner in the restaurant below was very nice - staff were very accomodating with my food allergy.

The Spa is genuinely terrific! They have won many awards and deservedly so. I splurged on a massage (make sure to book ahead) that was a great start to my little getaway on the Island.

All in all, a great place to relax, enjoy the seaview and get away from it all!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flute_Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

From the internet you might suspect this a charming waterside hostel. In fact my impression is that is is right out of the 60's with a lame attempt to update. I asked for a "quiet room" and was assigned one right at the top of the stairs, across from the vending room and my balcony facing the restaraunt enterance! The room is dated as is the whole property. There is a parking lot between the rooms and the water so don't expect to head out of your room and wiggle toes in sand. Now for the best part. They advertise "breakfast" as part of the deal. "Breakfast" is found in your room refrigerator and consists of a carton of juice, one apple and a strange looking item in the freezer allegedly a quesadilla. Maybe it magically transforms in the nuker but I was not going to take the risk, instead walking a block to the local bakery for a mouth watering fritter. This place might have rocked in its heyday but now best avoided for better values elsewhere in Sidney.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProMetalSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

The staff are great, very friendly and very helpful. I had an oceanfront standard room and was not disappointed. The room looked like it had recently been refurbished, with a very new and nice bathroom. The room was very spacious and included a dining table and a small sofa from which you could look out the balcony window to the sea. The location is great -- in walking distance of restaurants and coffee shops. A large grocery store is right across the street, and a nearby bus stop that will take you into Victoria. The room includes breakfast -- but it really is not much -- a juice box and a frozen english muffin type sandwich that you need to heat up in the microwave.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maldivesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We had booked into a room in the older building, but received a free upgrade to a suite in the cannery building. The room was fantastic. Comfortable bed, large bathroom, large sitting area. My only complaint was that the room we had was a little noisy. It sounded like some kind of machinery was running constantly. Wasn't a bother during the day, but kept us up a bit at night. Also, the free breakfast quesadilla was not impressive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gahram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Property: Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Address: 9775 First St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites is conveniently located on the waterfront, the only Hotel on South Vancouver Island with a beach. Just 20 minutes from Victoria and five minutes from Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries & the IOS. From your balcony, only feet from the ocean, take in Sidney by the Sea's breathtaking waterfront & views of the Gulf Islands. Relax in front of your fireplace in a cozy wicker chair or soak in a large jetted tub. Enjoy our recently updated rooms and suites, high speed internet, free N.American long distance 24/7, 45 HD TV Channels and free parking. Enjoy Boutique shopping on-site in The Cannery & discover waterfront dining in our Beacon Landing Restaurant and Lounge. The most Affordable rates on the Waterfront in Sidney-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing