We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room/View EXCEPT for one thing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maple Ridge, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room/View EXCEPT for one thing...”
Reviewed November 22, 2005

We stayed in a deluxe room with a kitchen in the new part of the hotel. The room, kitchenette, furnishings, view, bathroom, etc... everything about this room was OUTSTANDING except one thing.
In the bathroom there is a wonderful stand alone shower and an enormous soaker tub, BUT so you can see the ocean while soaking, there is a large hole cut out of the wall beside the tub and toilet. The ONLY thing to offer any privacy while using the facilities, to put it politely, is a roll down shade. Also, the tub and this hole is right beside the bed so there is really no privacy even in the middle of the night. So if this doesn't bother you, then you will love this room! I personally, as well as my husband, like our privacy while using the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILuvHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    105
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
114
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, WA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

My family of 4 stayed here one night as we toured the Gulf Islands. The hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from the marina, very handy. The location is also handy to all of Beacon street and its numerous book stores, antique shops and cute boutiques. The hotel is older, and slipping a bit on maintenance details. However, the room was clean and big enough, and the linens were new. Avoid rooms on the ground floor, as the parking lot is the major view, and privacy is a problem if you prefer the drapes open. Also, major construction is going on nearby AND airplanes leaving Victoria fly right overhead.....so if you're sensitive to city noise, bring ear plugs. Nights were very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Restless_in_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We stayed in a deluxe room in the older section of this hotel in October 2004. We were very pleased with our room. It had a comfortable bed with a separate living/dining room. We also had a wonderful double jacuzzi in the bedroom with a fireplace in the living room.

The only thing was that it was on the ground floor overlooking the beach . . . and the parking lot. Therefore we couldn't leave our drapes open while using the jacuzzi tub. Also the included breakfast wasn't very good - just packaged (very sweet) muffins, drink boxes and fruit.

It is in a good location right on the waterfront walkway and close to restaurants and shops and the staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all we enjoyed our stay. We will probably return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bid Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

I stayed at the hotel for one night. Our room was lovely and clean, we had an oceanfront room that consisted of a jacuzzi, fireplace, kitchen, bath robes, feather duvet comforter and a really confortable mattress!! The room and decor was tastefully decorated. Having yogurt and juice was also a very nice touch! One night was not enough....I wish I had stayed longer! Staff was very friendly and helpfull! In the morning a basket was left at the door with muffins, newspaper and fruit. By far this is my favorite hotel. Great location and close to all ammenities. Planning to stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cc_elvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2005

Stayed one night in a standard "ocean view" room and glad we didn't stay longer. Felt like I was staying at a highway motel. The view consisted of a patio looking out into a parking lot with the ocean in the distance. The pictures as advertised were of the deluxe rooms which were, unfortunately, all booked. The walls were so thin we could hear conversations in the next room and the people upstairs sounded like they were going to come through the ceiling. The beds were soft and uncomfortable and the linens were very average. We were delivered "breakfast" outside of our door at 7am....2 muffins, 2 dodgy looking apples, 2 bananas, and 2 juice boxes.
We paid only $80 for the room which seems a bit much for the awful experience. Don't bother staying here.
Last year we stayed at the Shoal Harbour Inn which was far nicer.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2004

The updated renovations are wonderful. My wife and I stayed in the suite for two nights. One of the best. We love the town of Sidney and surrounding area including Victoria. Well done Waterfront Hotel in Sidney. We cannot wait to get back.
Jack and Dovie Sorensen,Crosby,Texas

Helpful?
8 Thank jdsore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
148 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Property: Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Address: 9775 First St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites is conveniently located on the waterfront, the only Hotel on South Vancouver Island with a beach. Just 20 minutes from Victoria and five minutes from Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries & the IOS. From your balcony, only feet from the ocean, take in Sidney by the Sea's breathtaking waterfront & views of the Gulf Islands. Relax in front of your fireplace in a cozy wicker chair or soak in a large jetted tub. Enjoy our recently updated rooms and suites. We offer breakfast, free internet, free local and North America phone calls, HD sports movies and HBO & free parking. Enjoy Boutique shopping on-site in The Cannery & discover waterfront dining in our Beacon Landing Restaurant and Lounge. The most Affordable rates on the Waterfront in Sidney-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing