We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We experienced a smooth check and were allocated a ground floor room overlooking the car park. This didn't matter as we only spent our sleeping hours there. The room was clean and comfortable and at a reasonable price. The hotel is very conveniently located near the main street and sea and has a large car park. Having spent two weeks dinning out we decided to purchase some salad etc from a supermarket across the street. We asked reception if they could provide us with some plastic cutlery but were given proper knives and forks and also plates and napkins. Little things like that really elevate customer satisfaction. Well done to the lady who was so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear valued Guest; It is always our pleasure to help guests out in any way to make our guests feel welcome and at home. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    105
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
108
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Styed here several time for business. Location to ferries and airport is good but the rooms are getting outdated. I have always had a room that overlooks the parking lot that can be noisy. Nice addition now is that they are serving a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webfeetads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear valued Guest thank-you for taking the time to write your review. We are in the process of getting quotes to upgrade our room furnishing. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

An old building with little redeaming characteristics other then it's location. Small rooms and small bath. Minimal decor upgrades,the most impressive of which is the first floor hall way with a psuedo nautical theme. The room and bath millwork are plastic laminate, all low-end finishes. No contemporary upgrades like curved shower curtains or electronic locks. You can hear your neighbor sneeze or the party above you walk the floor due to the wood construction. The breakfast offering was limited to cold cereal, toast and yogart.

The front desk attendants were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear valued Guest , thank you for your comments. We are in the process of upgrading our room furnishings. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Thought we were just passing through but enjoyed it so much we stayed another night. We were fortunate to be able to get a room with more than 1/2 an ocean view. Considering it was Canada Day long weekend and the fireworks on the Sunday night were right out front of the hotel I felt lucky.
The linens were beautiful and the room was so much more than just a little box. The bathtub was luxurious and much needed after a long ride.
The front desk staff were very freindly and extremely helpful.(even to the point of charging my ipod)
I would definitely stay here again, so central and a wonderful stay

Room Tip: The suites have amazing bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniethatswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear valued Guest; our staff, who read the reviews, will definitely appreciate your comments. Thank-you for taking the time to write such a favorable review, we look forward to your next stay with us. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Disappointed. Not because the facilities were bad, but because the pictures are not like the facilities. Slightly outdated. Clean enough. Very average. Also, this hotel was MUCH more expensive than a fancy hotel I stayed at in downtown Victoria. Save your money and stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aesojka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What really impressed me with this hotel was the care taken by staff to make their guests feel special-- the small table and chairs with mugs, the bigger than usual selection of coffees and teas, the special folds in the towels, the attractive bed quilts and pillows-- lots of little things were done with care. The night staff (I checked in rather late) were courteous. I had to bug the front desk for a couple of things (like how to turn off the fan), and they were very kind and eager to help.

I really liked the beach décor too. Really comfy bed. And the later checkout time was appreciated. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear valued Guest; our staff will truly appreciate your recognition of their efforts and the time you took to write such a glowing review. We are always happy, when possible to offer late check outs and look forward to your return stay. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for one evening as we had an appointment in Victoria the next morning. We were greeted by extremely friendly & knowledgeable staff who helped us every step of the way. We couldn't of asked for better service. The location is FANTASTIC. Sidney is a very neat little town that if you have the opportunity to walk through, you really should! We had an ocean view room and a small little patio that looked right onto the water, pier and walkway. It was so very relaxing! The hotel is a little dated in some areas but for the price and the view, you can't go wrong. Besides, we would much rather stay here and get that "homey" feeling that you don't get at the higher class, expensive hotels. If you're looking for a relaxing stay with top of the line customer service, this is the place for you. Thank you so much Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you can request an ocean view room you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear valued Guest; our staff appreciate your kind words as they strive to offer our guests a comfortable stay. We are grateful for the time you took to review our hotel and are pleased you found it so relaxing. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Property: Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Address: 9775 First St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites is conveniently located on the waterfront, the only Hotel on South Vancouver Island with a beach. Just 20 minutes from Victoria and five minutes from Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries & the IOS. From your balcony, only feet from the ocean, take in Sidney by the Sea's breathtaking waterfront & views of the Gulf Islands. Relax in front of your fireplace in a cozy wicker chair or soak in a large jetted tub. Enjoy our recently updated rooms and suites. We offer breakfast, free internet, free local and North America phone calls, HD sports movies and HBO & free parking. Enjoy Boutique shopping on-site in The Cannery & discover waterfront dining in our Beacon Landing Restaurant and Lounge. The most Affordable rates on the Waterfront in Sidney-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing