We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was upgraded from being a very low-end seedy place a number of years ago. I hadn't visited it in many years and was looking forward to the facelift. It IS better than it was, but it is still a middle-of-the-road hotel. The good points are: right on the waterfront, pleasant staff, close proximity to running/walking trails and of course the charm of Sidney itself. You are right downtown at this spot.
On the down side, breakfast is terrible. There is no restaurant service so instead they give you a burrito (!!) in your fridge along with a little fruit bag. I really have never had a burrito for breakfast nor do I know anyone who has. This hotel would be greatly improved with a modest restaurant area for breakfast. We would pay for that! For me, the burrito was left untouched and I went out and bought breakfast.
As well, there is no tea in the room. I am sorry; I am from British Columbia and many of us drink tea. This is British Columbia. So where is the tea?
This place is not cheap. I guess you pay for the location. But some of the basics would be appreciated.

Room Tip: The waterfront side is definitely preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraJVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyInn, Owner at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hello Barbara thanks to your review regarding our limited breakfast options we have now implemented a breakfast room, next to our lobby, where guests can have a choice of breads to toast, English muffins, breakfast cereals ( including an organic gluten free cereal), yogurt, milk or almond milk, coffee, tea, juice and fruit at no extra cost.

We are a family owned business who take reviews and suggestions, like yours, seriously. We look forward to having you join us again next time you are in town.
We would love to meet you and discuss our breakfast changes.
Thank you for taking time to give us your input.
Yours sincerely
Roselyn and Denis, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our second hotel in Canada, another gloomy room although very cumfy beds , the place offered no breakfast at all, when enquiring they wanted my disabled wife to walk a long way to some restaurant when there was an adequate cafe just a few yards away. We had a superb time in Sidney visiting relations. Our view was of the car park but we had declined to be on first fleer as there was no lift. Standards and prices in Canadian hotels bear little resemblance to the rest of the world .

Room Tip: I guess if you want super sea view you would need to be on first floor, it is right on the promenade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked a standard room based on positive TA reviews as we needed a place to overnight while sightseeing on the Sanich Peninsula.

First impression was negative as the lobby was small, dilapidated, with carpet that smelled of mold. The room was small with 2 double beds just fitting, but had all the amenities with a bar fridge, microwave, drip coffee maker, wireless internet, and cable TV with a good channel selection. An unexpected touch was the complimentary burrito's juice and apples provided for breakfast.

The room was clean and the hallway and room carpets had been upgraded. Bathroom was a decent size with shower/tub combo. There was a noisy but efficient air conditioner.

There are much better rooms with harbour views but they are almost twice as expensive, most located in a separate building above the onsite restaurant. These did not suit our needs for basic overnight stay requirement and there are other interesting lodging nearby in the higher price range.

The best thing about this hotel is location in the heart of Sidney On The Sea. The Harbour front stroll is beautiful and adjacent main street has numerous interesting stores and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel for it's excellent location and good value of standard rooms

Room Tip: Standard rooms excellent value but pay extra for several night stay with standard view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a small hotel with two parts. The newer section has roomy waterfront (and other) rooms and is higher priced. The older section also has waterfront\view rooms but is lower priced. My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights in the Pender Island Room with full waterfront views over the strait and glorious Mt. Baker. The restaurant\pub is directly below but noise was not a problem. We paid $229 Cdn a night in high season. The showers are fab with great big tubs and a fireplace which is nice on cool evenings. Also the balcony is big enough for two chairs and is great for people and water watching with a glass of wine. A waterfront trail goes right in front of the hotel -- again no disturbance at night. There is no room service but staff are very friendly. Coffee in the room is pretty good but full service java is just down the street. You are minutes from the pier and a very nice casual restaurant. Linens are high quality and free wifi. Also Sidney is a great jumping off place for Vancouver Island for hiking, biking or driving.

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit extra to get one of the direct waterfront rooms in the new section you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonegaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently stayed in the Queen Suite-Ocean View in the Pets can Stay area of the inn. The room was clean and my boston terrier enjoyed his stay very much.
The view, though accross a parking lot was breath taking.
There was a nice walking trail all around the harbour just steps from our room.
The room itself was nice. There was a monster tub in our room which was a pleasant surprise.
The bathroom itself was small, but had everything we needed.
The "kitchenette" the room boasted needed a bit of work.
Be prepared if you are wanting a kitchenette unit to bring your own cooking utensils such as pots, pans, spatulas etc. Our room had a small pot (sauce pan size) and a small frying pan. No cooking utensils to be found. No can opener etc. Everything else with the room was fine.
When staying in Sidney you will not be in your room that much anyways so this room was just fine. The inn was walking distance to beaches, restaurants, stores, etc.
My only regret is only staying for 2 days.. definitely needed 3.. or 4 even to explore the area more!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view suite, if you are town view you will face a busy parking lot and street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackCarandGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked this hotel by mistake and we had a room in the old section of the hotel (not so nice), however we discovered that they had new deluxe suites in another building. This was an awesome find, these suites were big, new, clean, nicely decored with great bathrooms, a total value for the additional dollar spent. In fact we stayed next door last time (Sidney Pier Inn) and would prefer this room in a heartbeat.
Happy to have found this hotel by mistake, will stay here again. Great staff, family run.

Room Tip: Stay in the new deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadysmithTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel and was happy with everything .
Really clean, great staff, rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Located close to restaurants, coffee shops,shopping on Beacon Street and walks along the sea.
Decently priced- I have originally planned to stay across the road at the more expensive Sidney Pier, where I have stayed before, but there were only suites left and few rooms with views for a single business traveller.

The Sidney Waterfront has suites in the main building, but I liked very much my comfortable single in the other building with a small patio .

Everything worked well and the Pub restaurant adjoining, had just great food and a seaside patio.

I have high standards for accommodation, and felt this had everything necessary for a comfortable and cosy stay.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms on the lower floor do have the parking lot between them and the sea, but not serious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmmimico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
165 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Airport Travelodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Address: 9775 First St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: $86 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites is conveniently located on the waterfront, the only Hotel on South Vancouver Island with a beach. Just 20 minutes from Victoria and five minutes from Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries & the IOS. From your balcony, only feet from the ocean, take in Sidney by the Sea's breathtaking waterfront & views of the Gulf Islands. Relax in front of your fireplace in a cozy wicker chair or soak in a large jetted tub. Enjoy our recently updated rooms and suites. We offer breakfast, free internet, free local and North America phone calls, HD sports movies and HBO & free parking. Enjoy Boutique shopping on-site in The Cannery & discover waterfront dining in our Beacon Landing Restaurant and Lounge. The most Affordable rates on the Waterfront in Sidney-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing