We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alder Road Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel(Sidney)(Great Value!)
$125
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites(Sidney)(Great Value!)
$131
$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites(Sidney)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$237
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Eyrie Resort(Malahat)(Great Value!)
$193
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn(Saanich)(Great Value!)
$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
19
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your home and family with us during out two night getaway. Wonderful place to stay just outside Sidney but worlds away from the City. Great biking directions. Amazing 200 mile loop drive directions around the coast and interior of southern Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived by ferry and were prepared for a wait for relatives to take us to the Alder Road Retreat. What a pleasant surprise it was to have Brenda show up to chauffeur us there.
Our stay was all we expected and more. I'd love to be having the homemade granola for breakfast or snacking on the delicious cookies right now. The warm tiles of the bathroom floor were an unexpected surprise. If there were more circles we'd click them too! Thank you for a great experience, Brenda.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmiller711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We came across the Alder Road Retreat quite by accident and it turned out to be one of the best discoveries we have made for accommodation. Our unexpected arrival close to 5pm was no problem for Brenda who welcomed us enthusiastically and set about making us comfortable in her beautiful B&B. Nothing was too much trouble and soon yummy cake and muffins were produced and, along with a huge assortment of breakfast choices, we certainly couldn't go hungry. We slept in the Brown Room and loved its Autumn tonings. The bed was so comfortable we hated getting up. Everything was so clean and the little touches like the assortment of toiletries in the ensuite were very much appreciated. The window views over the water and forest were lovely even though it was cool and raining. The warm and homely lounge area with its heater, cosy furnishings and an assortment of books was the ideal place to curl up in one of the throw rugs and relax. Books, pamphlets and maps of Vancouver Island provided all the information needed to plan the days ahead. What a shame we had to return to Vancouver the next day as we could have stayed much longer. Thankyou Brenda and Jim for being such lovely people. We are so glad we met you. Annette, Geoff and Kate Wiadrowski (Melbourne, Australia)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Near Victoria BC, but far enough away.
We spent five nights in late April 2012. Our work was at the Airport, which is actually Sidney, which is about 40Km from Victoria.
We were determined to NOT do Victoria- done that, we wanted to explore other areas without turning a week trip into a road rally.
Alder Road retreat is a great location to HQ to explore Butchcart Gardens
Brentwood Bay, Island View Beach and a bunch of really neat wineries and ferries.
Brenda and Jim and the kids are a great bunch with lots of good advice on places to go.
The rooms and hospitalityare exactly what is wanted in a high qualityBnB and that is what Alder Road Retreat is with thanks to the efforts of Brenda.
The morning walks on trails full of nice folks was terrific whether it was rain or shine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were looking for a B&B near Deep Cove because we were going to attend a wedding held at Muse Winery. We booked the Alder Road Retreat online from Manitoba, in order to be close to the Muse Winery. I was impressed with the quick response to my e-mail and found Brenda to be very helpful with directions and questions I had about the area.

Once we arrived, we felt right at home, fresh homemade baked goods were waiting for us and the room was cozy and comfortable. The communal living room offered us privacy and a comfortable space to gather with our friends who were staying in the adjacent room. It was the perfect place to stay with another couple.

Every morning we looked forward to the fresh fruit, cheese, home made granola and other goodies stocked in our communal space. It was also really nice to be able to come 'home' at the end of the day and have a snack and a cup of tea before bed. Brenda was super helpful with odds and ends we needed in preparation for the wedding. The bride was getting ready with us the day of the wedding and our room was able to accommodate three girls doing their make up together in the spacious washroom.

We had a wonderful time at the Alder Road Retreat, thank you for your excellent service.
Marianne M.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews