We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quiet & relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alder Road Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alder Road Retreat
Ranked #7 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Loma Linda, California
1 review
“Wonderfully quiet & relaxing”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Warm and welcoming rooms that are clean and nicely appointed. WONDERFUL homemade granola always available (I need the recipe!). Homemade muffins (still warm from the oven) were enjoyed each morning, beverages & snacks were always available as well. Loved the patio with the relaxing view of the small lake. It is a bit off the beaten path, but my husband and I got to all the places we needed to quite easily. I DO recommend staying at the Alder Road Retreat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This B&B has three large guest rooms, each with a private on-suite, and all three suites join a spacious, comfortable common area where there are lots of snacks (coffee, tea, fruit, pastries, cold drinks and more). The service was superb. On the property is a large pond where we watched ducks and lots of birds. There are lots of walking trails in every direction. On our business trip we used all three rooms (two couples and one individual). Great experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The entire family really enjoyed our weekend stay. Brenda was very accommodating and so helpful (thanks for the fabulous restaurant recommendation!) . The suites are lovely with very comfortable beds and luxurious spa like bathrooms.

Overall really exceeded our expectations. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a getaway that's private, relaxing, yet conveniently located only about a 20 minute drive from Victoria

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We would definitely stay here again. A terrific spot. Host was experienced, super and accommodating. Rooms are terrific offering privacy and a common area. A real great B & B!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burkevillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghjt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a bed and breakfast a few km outside of Sidney. The setting of the house and the garden overlook a stream. There are walking paths that you can take from the house. It is very close to the airport and the ferry terminal. There are 3 rooms that are very private from the family home. Breakfast and snacks are available to help yourself to at any time. There was always home baking and a variety of choices. There is a common room with a large screen TV to relax before dinner or on that rainy day. The rooms are furnished beautifully. Brenda is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderRoadRetreat, Owner at Alder Road Retreat, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. It was a pleasure having you here as our guests at Alder Road Retreat. Come back anytime, Xmas lights at Butchart are especially nice! Sincerely, Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
3.3 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Beacon Inn at Sidney
Beacon Inn at Sidney
#1 of 8 in Sidney
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swartz Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast
Swartz Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in North Saanich
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belle Maison Aupres De La Mer B&B
1.0 mi away
Amante Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Road Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Road Retreat

Property: Alder Road Retreat
Address: 11120 Alder Road, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 5R3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alder Road Retreat is a peaceful, comfortable place to stay while visiting Victoria, Sidney and Vancouver Island. Located about six minutes from both the Swartz Bay ferry terminal and the Victoria airport, it is a great jumping off or jumping in spot when visiting the Island. The Retreat is a small B&B snuggled in a forested valley, next to a busy wildlife pond, in the northern tip of the Saanich Peninsula. The gardens are beautiful; the view and ambiance are wonderful. The Retreat features a beautiful deck area, walking paths, lovely gardens and a spacious common area with fireplace. A delicious breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing