We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*”

Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the mysteries of the Salish Sea Bioregion - one of the most diverse ecosystems in the world! The Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea is an aquarium and cultural centre for the learning, exploration, and conservation of the Salish Sea. The Salish Sea is named after the Canadian Indigenous Peoples of the region, the Coast Salish. Experience natural aquaria habitats of over 160 live species including a giant pacific octopus and wolf eels; a marine mammal exhibit complete with a rare orca skeleton; and experience the art and culture of the Coast Salish peoples on permanent exhibit. Journey from seafloor to seashore and discover the amazing diversity of the Salish Sea. Peer into 28 aquarium habitats teeming with live marine life from anemones to jelly fish to rockfish and experience the animals first hand in our Touch Pool room overlooking the Salish Sea.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“*”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's great for what it is. It's not huge, but they have lots to look at. For sure better than undersea gardens

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanDiscovery, Public Relations Manager at Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi kstar14,

Thank you so much for visiting the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre! By coming in for a visit, you have supported the continuation of our community aquarium...so thank you again!

You are right that our facility is cozy; we have about 10,000 square feet to display all of the wonders found in the Salish Sea. We like being on the small side because it gives our volunteer Oceaneers the chance to engage with each one of our guests and point out all of the intricacies that exist in our habitats. They are teeming with wildlife!

Many people don't realize that we are a not-for-profit aquarium, which is why the support of our guests who pay admission are critical to our success. All revenue generated at the Centre is put directly back into our facility to ensure that our animals receive the highest quality care and attention. We're proud of that fact!

Thank you again for visiting us, and we hope you come to see us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    94
    30
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A slice of the Ocean”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A great way to see what is under our sea! A great alternative to conventional amusement park aquariums that cause more trouble to their animals than harm. Here the educational value is through the roof and the animals are returned to the ocean after their short stay as ocean ambassadors.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mec380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanDiscovery, Public Relations Manager at Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi mec380!

Thank you so much for visiting the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and that you noticed the care that our staff and volunteer Oceaneers take in protecting and caring for all of the animals that live in our exhibits. Quality is our top priority!

As a not-for-profit aquarium, our mandate is to help teach all of our visitors about the beauty that exists in the Salish Sea and what steps every person can take to help protect its delicate ecosystem...though it sounds to us like you were already an avid ocean advocate before you came in. That's awesome!

Thank you again for visiting the Centre, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Everyone at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Unexpected Delight”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We try to visit aquariums when we travel and have visited Monterey, Tokyo, Kagoshima, for example, aquariums which are very large and wonderful. We live close to Sidney and have only today decided to visit the Shaw aquarium. We were very pleasantly surprised as we were not expecting much from a small local aquarium. The exhibits are march larger than expected and the ocean life on display was high quality and fascinating since they are from our own surrounding salt waters. Many species we have not seen elsewhere. We were so impressed we bought season passes! We highly recommend a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doug”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A small aquarium but adequate for the size of the town. Describes the local Salish Sea. A great place for children and adults can learn too. Helpful staff. Hands on tanks. Don't miss the small magnification microscopes on the upper level.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanDiscovery, Public Relations Manager at Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Doug C!

Thank you so much for visiting the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre, and for your great review! We are always thrilled to hear when a guest has enjoyed their time with us.

You mentioned our helpful staff...you may be surprised to know that almost all of the knowledgeable Oceaneers who help guide visitors through the aquarium are actually volunteers! Yup, we're pretty lucky to have such a wonderful group of people who love the Salish Sea and want to talk all about it!

We hope to see you again very soon, and thank you again!

Sincerely,
All of us here at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited shortly after it opened. The exhibits are interesting and interactive. It is a nice way to explore the west coast waters, without having to get into the water.

Helpful?
Thank travelcoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing