We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who'd A Thunk!?!”
Review of White Spot

White Spot
Ranked #56 of 83 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: American, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Who'd A Thunk!?!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

For such a busy place, service was quick and attentative. Ordered their Dessert Special which was Pumpkin Pie, expected a rubbery slice with canned whipped cream on the side, got a baked mini pie, sprinkled with Cinnamon and drizzled with Caramel. Perfect Combination, found right at YYJ Airport. Who'd A Thunk!?!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“As far as White Spots go, this one was excellent!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was the first place we saw when we were driving from the Airport to Victoria, so we stopped. :)
We ate here twice, once on the way to Victoria, and once when we were leaving the Island. We had 2 different servers and both were equally excellent. We really appreciated how they conscientiously assisted us in getting our picky daughter's meal just right.
The food was the same each time. Standards are being held. I think this is the best White Spot we have ever been to. I'm not usually a fan, but I really enjoyed these experiences.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The only game in town on a Sunday night!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We arrived in Sidney on a Sunday afternoon and on looking for a restaurant in Sidney that was open, could find none that were not 'fast-food' type places.

So we ventured out to the airport and ate at the White Spot.

We were greeted at the door by a host who turned out to be the manager. We asked for a booth. He told us we couldn't have a booth because there were only 2 of us and they needed to keep them open for larger parties. The next couple that came in after us were given a booth. They did not have anyone else join them making it a larger party.

The food was standard White Spot food - burgers and fries and were good. Service was quick and efficient. Our server was friendly and pleasant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhughesehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The service was so slow that I finally left”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

When my Westjet flight was delayed I headed to White Spot with a $10 coupon. I was seated immediately but no one came to take my drink order or my meal order. I saw a young woman who appeared to be a waitress standing by the cash register, but I could not get her attention so I finally asked the person who had seated me to bring me some water. When she finally came over ten minutes or so later, she walked away again saying she would be back in a few minutes. I left and had dinner elsewhere. This is an airport restaurant. People don't want to linger. The food is okay and I will return, but I will leave again if I have a similar experience in the future. I have to wonder who is managing this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean_alberta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwood, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Good One”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

So I was on the lower Island this week and I stopped by for dinner with a friend at the White Spot on Highway 17 just before the Swartz Bay Ferry. It is in a kind of out of the way location but it is still driveable for most. The service was prompt, the booth was fine, in all sense of the word it was a good White Spot; as good as any I have been to in many different cities.
What made the trip memorable is that, being Sidney, there were a lot of elderly people coming in and the servers seemed to know them all by name. This impressed me. Then a little old lady came in alone and sat across from us. She looked a bit down and our server must have noticed this too because even though she was not in his section he would smile and chat a second as he went by. He was a good waiter and he had a human touch to him. Then word seemed to get around and other waitresses started to pop by briefly to say hi to her.
I do not know her story. Perhaps she suffered a recent loss. I really have no idea. But I loved the way the staff, while still doing their jobs well, went out of their way to cheer this lady up.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastTravels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Spot also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to White Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing