We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee, seating a bit awkward.”
Review of Beacon Cafe

Beacon Cafe
Ranked #6 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Sidney
Price range: $1 - $11
Description: Welcome to Beacon Café! We are located in quaint Sidney by the sea, just a minute walk to the lovely Sidney Pier. We offer a wide selection of specialty coffees and teas by Murchies and Silk Road Organic Teas. You can also treat yourself to our made to order classic sandwiches and delicious baked sweets & treats. Come in and enjoy our British inspired feel with Victorian style brick and charming, cozy setting. Beacon Café is a great place to catch up with friends, take that much needed break from the hustle and bustle and enjoy the local scenery.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Beacon Café! We are located in quaint Sidney by the sea, just a minute walk to the lovely Sidney Pier. We offer a wide selection of specialty coffees and teas by Murchies and Silk Road Organic Teas. You can also treat yourself to our made to order classic sandwiches and delicious baked sweets & treats. Come in and enjoy our British inspired feel with Victorian style brick and charming, cozy setting. Beacon Café is a great place to catch up with friends, take that much needed break from the hustle and bustle and enjoy the local scenery.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

Coffee was good. Cookies very tasty. However, the large old furniture makes the seating arrangement kind of awkward.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Beacon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Peter N,
Glad you enjoyed our product, sorry to hear about the seating. Next time you in, let us know and we will be more than happy to move tables around.

Thanks,
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2019

We were in Sidney for a few days and stopped by to pick up some sandwiches to go. They were friendly, the menu was interesting and the food was delicious. The kids LOVED their BLT's.

If we find ourselves in the area again, we'll be back!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FamilyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Beacon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear FamilyN,
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

I am visiting from UK and this was the second time I had used this Cafe in a few days. I went for lunch and had a good veggie panini and a coffee. Helpful staff, tasty food and quick service. Very good value for money . It is worth going early at lunchtime as this place is popular and it fills quickly at busy times.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Beacon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2018

Thank you Mary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

This independent cafe in heart of Sidney is a great choice for light lunch Good coffee and delicious toasties. Mix of seating. Cosy and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank RiddiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Beacon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2018

Thank you RiddiSue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We stopped for lunch during our recent trip to Sidney. Beacon Cafe is cozy and very casual. There is a wide selection of teas, along with coffee and other soft drinks. The luncheon selections included sandwiches, soup and salads.
The beef barley soup was very good - hearty beef flavor. The turkey sandwich was tasty - with lettuce and tomato.
There are cookies and sweet treats to enjoy with a good cup of tea. They even serve a high tea for two in the afternoon.
The decor is very cute - with tea pots, tea cups and the Royal Family!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Cafe also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Beacon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing