We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the Day!”

Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #17 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Saved the Day!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After a disastrous lunch at Brentwood Bay we decided to sup at the Beacon where we ate on a previous trip to Victoria and which we remembered well. It was worth the visit and definitely finished off the day properly. I had the NS Lobster and Blue Crab Papperdelle. Rich, in a light cream sauce, garnished with asiago and served with a generous portion of corn bread. Noodles were fresh, cooked perfectly. Seafood was sufficient and flavourful, not overpowered by the sauce. Portion was a good size, not too large but because of the richness sufficient and very satisfying. My wife had the Quadra Bay Scallops, as she had last time we were here. They were as good as she remembered, sweet, succulent, juicy, seared and perfectly cooked, large portion with 7 large scallops. Served on a bed of Applewood smoked bacon risotto, again done perfectly (Watching Hell's Kitchen I didn't think that was possible.). Well done. This is a place to keep on your list, particularly if you fly out of YYJ regularly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    141
    68
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Seaside & friendly pub-ish restaurant-ish”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beacon Landing is more innovative than one would expect from a pub. It's seaside location in the town of Sidney BC with lots of parking makes it irresistible too. Beautifully fresh and gorgeously presented dishes at a good price. Drinks could use a little upgrade and finesse, but they give you blankets for the patio if it's too crisp.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good food, great view”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have been to the Beacon on several occasions and, while the menu is somewhat limited (in my opinion!), the food is pretty good. Service is pleasant, the atmosphere is good. The view is divine!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank normaraeofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've had marginal experiences at this restaurant, but today was the last time. Usually we just go there for drinks and skip the food, because of previous disappointing meals.

A family member wanted to go, so we agreed. Expensive, disappointing, inattentive service, all these describe our encounter today.

My husband had fish and chips which he complained were over battered, fish was mushy and the coleslaw that accompanied it was just plain nasty.

I and our other dining companion had a crab (and supposedly shrimp, but these could not be found) monte cristo sandwich, which was gluey and soggy.

The price of our 3 lunches and a couple of drinks was ridiculous. Not the best way to enjoy New Year's lunch. We've given up, we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Fresh seafood is a must"”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I ordered scallops which although a little pricey, were cooked to perfection!!
Service is prompt, and the views and overall ambiance are tranquil. An excellent luchtime or evening venue, with child restrictions for underage drinkers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCBDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing