We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch the Wine Prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub

Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #17 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Pub, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Watch the Wine Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This restaurant has a wonderful outdoor patio with awesome ocean views and great food but the Wine Prices are a Real Rip Off. They claim to give 6 oz glasses but i"d beg to differ. The Lamberti Pinot Grigio is $8.00 for a six ounce glass but $40.00 for a bottle?? Go figure that. I'm not a math genius but that doesn't add up????
Anyways - the service was great - food pretty good - but if you're having wine -- order it by the glass and ask for it to be served in a carafe OR be prepared to be Ripped Off...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bimmer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    135
    66
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deterioration in quality with new chef”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have gone to the Beacon Landing several times in the past few years. The waitresses have always been top notch, and up until last month the food has been prepared very skillfully using fresh ingredients. Now there is a new chef who does not use fresh ingredients and does not cook with the same level of skill. Also, the previous chef had separate vegetarian and gluten-free menus, but those are now gone. The prices are now higher as well--you pay more for less! The waitresses and view are still top notch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikerVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia Springs, AL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Delicious Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We came upon this place by accident while passing through Sidney. Went in for a local brew and a cup of coffee, then decided to have a bite to eat to sustain us until dinner in Victoria. I had the soup of the day (cream of asparagus) and a salad, which I have to say now was the freshest and most tasty I had during our entire visit to Canada. My hubby had the chowder and a beer, and enjoyed both. It was lovely to sit on the glass-enclosed patio and enjoy the view of the ocean and lovey, flowery pedestrian path. If we had been there at dinnertime we most certainly would have come back for a full meal!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funkypuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect View, Delicious Food, Friendly Staff...We went almost daily!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We could not get enough of Beacon Landing. We were visiting for two weeks and had lunch there almost daily. Sat on the patio overlooking spectacular waterfront. Best (hallibut) fish & chips we ever had. Loved the salmon burger special. And the seafood chowder also beats any we've had...even in Boston. It was FULL of fish, perfect broth, not thick or gloppy. Very, very friendly, helpful wait staff. Loved the micro-brewed beers on draft. Yes, it is pricey, but most restaurants in Sidney are... the other fish 'n' chips places are holes in the wall, crowded and offer no view and their prices are the same. All I can say is every meal felt like: Ahhhh...heavenly.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND VIEW”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Well, you sure can't beat the view, right on the water and most tables have a partial view, both pub and restaurant side. The quality bis great and unique.l the prices are a littloe o9n the high side but all considered, acceptable. All 7 of us were impressed with the cod whether deep fried or baked. The other guest had frazzled prawns and was equally impressed with the amount of prawns and the flavour, excellent. We will be Back!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NOBADDAYS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing