We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family Camping Trip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Squamish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Valley Campground
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place! The staff were so friendly, the campgrounds were well cared for and the bathrooms were spotless. The little store offered drinks, ice cream, treats, ice and many other camping necessities. The trails around the campgrounds were awesome, with little information signs explaining what plants and trees were there. With just a short drive the Alice Lake, every thing you need is here!
My family stayed here for 4 nights and were sad to leave.

Can't wait to stay again:-)


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linnea78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also look forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We happened upon this little diamond in the rough by accident. If you want a get away close to Vancouver with trails and quiet, this is it. Very friendly staff, very secluded. There are hook ups in the first 14 spots and the rest are all dry camping in large more or less private spots.
The hiking trails are somewhat overgrown in places as well which with the evidence of bear droppings is probably not the best idea, we played our Iphone music as we walked so as not to surprise anything along the way. I have never seen outhouse washrooms with tiles, flush toilets and sinks with running water before this. The only downside is we own a 30 ft class a motor home and the roads through the campsite are somewhat overgrown which did a little scratching along the sides. We mentioned this to the lady in charge who was very apologetic and said they would do some trimming for next time, you might want to call ahead and see if they have done that. A shame to miss this site because of that. Suggestion would be come in through the first exit only you see, find a spot with the bigger sites and then walk to the office and pay (no scratches :) )

Room Tip: Bring your larger RV in the first exit only and pick one of those spots
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCtrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are very pleased that you have found our campground. As our 28 acre nature park is located in a light forest setting, it is too easy for the growth of branches to get away from us. Trimming can be required more than once in a season. On that note, we have trimmed the branches along the roadway once again. The trails on the property, however, will have to wait until fall and probably again, next spring.

The Sea to Sky Corridor is well known as "Black Bear Country", and yes, black bears do go through our property. As most wildlife will try to avoid humans, they will only hang out if they find an easy food source. Garbage in fire rings or bags of garbage hanging from trees or laying about the site can attract bears, raccoons, cayote and such. They will approach if they think they won't be noticed. As most wildlife is curious they want to check out things that appear out of place, even cigarette butts can pique their curiousity. So, if concerned about black bears or other wildlife, just keep these tips in mind. And yes, make some noise when walking through a forest in order to avoid startling any animals that are not expecting you to be there.

As for the tip to owners of RVs, we would like to mention that while entering through the exit will help avoid scratches on the RVs, it could cause chaos. We recommend that if a camper is concerned about the overgrowth damaging or scratching paint, there are a couple of opportunities to park a vehicle on the side of the road just across the one lane baily bridge. Then enter on foot and check-in at the office to let us know you are on the property and would like to view the roadway and available sites. We do welcome feedback.

We very much appreciate your input and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been RVers for about 3 years and have spent time in many campgrounds across Canada. For us city dwellers it is awesome to find a place close enough to North Vancouver that will enable us to hit the road on a Friday after work and return on a Monday morning. Also very important to us is a place where our dog (so much more than just that) Chloe, is welcome and able to go for a swim and a good run (not always on leash). The other important factor is a site big enough to fit our 32 foot Class A motorhome, Betty Ford, in comfortably and still have to move around outside. Being able to relax outside and enjoying the beautiful BC nature and awesome summers is an added bonus too.
Our first weekend was enough for us to make it our new weekend get-away.
When we arrived here we we greeted by the friendliest gentleman! Now, I don't if he got a little worried seeing two females in a monster bus heading towards the main office or not hehehe. Well, turns out, the gentleman runs this place, really is very friendly and ever so helpful. The lady manning the front desk was just as friendly and helpful. What an awesome change from what we've experienced at other campgrounds in the area!
The campground is very well maintained and the individual sites are clean and level.
We fell in love with Paradise Valley Campground, and ended up booking (because it's safer that way) our spot for the next 3 weekends.
As music lovers we were a little worried about not having our music softly playing in the background, but surprisingly enough, we haven't missed it one bit, as we've been too busy enjoying the sounds if nature and little ones playing.
Our site is next to the railway track, but even that hasn't been an issue at all.
If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy nature, THIS IS IT.
Oh, and almost forgot, you get to paint small river rocks and decorate the campground. The campground provides the supplies to campers. What a neat idea!
We love our new hangout, and highly recommend you try it too.

Thank you Paradise Valley Campground and what a great job you do here.
Bonnie Barnes and Sylvia Adshade (and Chloe)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank BettyFordMoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are so happy that you have found our campground! Having you stay with us lifts our spirits. You are both so supportive and positive. It is fun having you stay with us, and seeing you again is something that we look forward to. Your accolades make us blush. Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts. With warmest regards to you both, to Chloe, and of course, BettyFordMoHo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We drove up to BC this past July to camp and we stayed at PV campground for 10 days. Once we got to Paradise Valley, we were beyond amazed! Prior to our adventure, we had received prompt responses to all email questions. We had concerns about the trains, specifically that they would cause anxiety for one of our dogs. Yes, the trains did drive through at night sometimes, but they did not sound their horn. You could hear the rumble, but it didn't interfere with the quality of our sleep. After the first night, it became a game to see who heard them! The campground was very clean and well-kept. We enjoyed the opportunity to explore the area and "come home" to an ice cream treat. Pat and Lynn were friendly, helpful, yet not intrusive. Out of curiosity, we scoped out other nearby campgrounds. It was a family unanimous decision that when we return to the same area, we will stay at this little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3Mannings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

What a bonus to return from our holidays and find this review in our e-mail! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can return in the near future. Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rv camped at Paradise Valley Campground in Squamish, BC for 4 days over the Labor Day weekend (camping space 13). One of the best campgrounds we have visited. Nice drive just getting to the campground. Clean washrooms and showers. Roomy campsites and great little trails all around. We didn't use the fire ring but one was provided in our campsite with firewood sold at the office. Close to town and friendly staff. it was a holiday weekend and the campground was full but it was still a great camping experience for us.

Don't really understand the complaints from reviewers about this campground. Our experience with other rv parks is that you are usually right on top of one another. That was not the case at this rv park. Seriously people, what do you really want from a place charging a modest $38/ night fee? If you want complete privacy, get a hotel room!

Squamish is truly one of the prettiest spots I've seen and the drive up from Seattle was beautiful, especially between Vancouver and Squamish.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danette121965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you so much for such kind words. We hope you have a wonderful fall and winter and we look forward to next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. When you drive in to the campground it is stunning. The bathrooms/showers near the front desk are beautiful and the showers we had were hot. $1 for a 5 min shower. Our campsite was average, our fire pit was about 6 feet away from our neighbors fire pit, which we wish we had a bit more privacy, but managed. The wood we purchased from he campground was $8 a sling but it was so damp that we had smoke for our first night. The closest washroom was nice (flushed toilets and running tap water). There was always a line up for the one washroom. Lots of trails around the area. My only complaint which is not the campgrounds fault is that the campground is right beside the train tracks and the train came by one night at 11pm and then the next morning at 5:30am.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

What a great review - thank you! Apologies about the firewood. It is a saga that is coming to a close in 2013. We will be buying kiln dried pre-packaged firewood next year. It sounds as if you were in a campsite last enjoyed by two families in side by side sites. Quite often we’ll find the firerings moved to the edge of a site so that both families can visit in one site and sit around the camp fire while listening for their children in each site as they sleep. The line-ups at the washrooms are optional. We have full facilities at the office (an extra three minute walk) that sit empty, while campers line up at the two washrooms in the lower area. The train is inconsistent and sometimes does not run at all. There is no schedule. The good news is that it doesn’t run every 20 minutes 24/7. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The campgrounds were tiny and right on top of eachother. They advertise a 'quite' camping experience, yet our neighbors were watching a movie till 11 at night. There were no patrols of the grounds at that time. And in the morning, there was a child screaming his head off from 6 am till 11 am. I asked for a refund and I got attitude and said no because I already stayed the night. I do not recommend this place to anyone and I for sure will not be going back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaredsanders234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
environmental, Owner at Paradise Valley Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. We’re sorry you had a negative experience. For the benefit of others reading your review, we would like to share some further insights. Most of the campsites at Paradise Valley Campground are separated with lush green space and have at least 20 feet between most of them. (note: each site is unique and has it’s own level of charm and proximity to neighbouring campers). If campers call in advance, our staff is happy to provide feedback and guidance on choosing a site that will best suit their needs. When dropping in without a reservation, you do have the option to request an available site that will suit you, which you can check out before registering with us. Or, you may choose to leave if you cannot find something that suits you. It is difficult to resolve a complaint when the guest is leaving. Under the circumstances, to attend at the office one hour ‘after’ check out the day you are due to leave and demand a refund, in our opinion, is unreasonable.
With regards to your quiet camping experience, we (the owners of the campground) live on site and personally walk the grounds at quiet time to ensure there is no unruly behaviour. Regular campers who have been coming to Paradise Valley Campground for years can attest to this. We have no problem politely informing campers that they are disturbing neighbours if it is brought to our attention when it happens. If the disturbance occurs after hours, campers can call the number posted on the office door using the courtesy phone. It is unfortunate that you were close to a family that had a crying baby at 6 am, but it happens from time to time. We do understand that this can be frustrating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Squamish
7.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
5.7 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
8.9 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
334 reviews
22.9 mi away
Riverside Resort Whistler
Riverside Resort Whistler
#2 of 55 in Whistler
928 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Valley Campground

Address: 3520 Paradise Valley Road, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Squamish
Price Range: $24 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 28 acre private nature park. We have a ”No Amplified Music” policy which means – no radios please. Of course, that does not mean that the campground runs in a meditative state, as acoustic guitar and singing is welcome. The entire property, including washrooms and pay showers, are immaculate. Paradise Valley Campground’s location is known as “front country” – this area is a natural habitat for many forms of wildlife. Typically, wild animals fear humans and are rarely seen or heard. If they are attracted by food and/or garbage left out around the campground, their fear diminishes and they become what is known as habituated; the fear is gone and they take what they want. Keeping our property clean has prevented wildlife from becoming habituated. To this end the campground provides several bear proof garbage and recycling containers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Valley Campground Hotel Squamish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing