We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
BC
1 review
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

We had a professional conference at the Sea-to-Sky Hotel in November of 2008. The rooms and food were very good and the staff were exceptional. They attended to our every need and were flexible in accommodating us. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JLJBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
28
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

We had a retreat at this hotel in September 2008 for a group from our Catholic Church. We had around 70 people and the hotel was able to accommodate us without any difficulty. The food was great, the cost was reasonable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were so pleased with the service that we had a second retreat there in November for 40 people.

The hotel manager Mohsen Mohajer was very helpful, friendly and he attended to all of our needs.

I would highly recommend this location for retreats and business meetings.

Michael Zarbl

  • Liked — The Staff, the service, large rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

This Hotel although located in a fairly nice part of the Squamish community, I have to say that they have definitely not lived up to any of the advertising promises posted on their website.

The first being the spacious "clean" rooms, although spacious definitely far from clean. The food from the Hotel restaurant is absolutely appalling and I definitely advise you take your appetite to the restaurant strip behind the hotel, as opposed to eating that slop at the hotel.

Props to the young women working the front desk who has far too many tasks to be running the show herself. One front desk person for the entirety of the hotel, conference rooms, restaurant, and liquor store , hardly leaves room for fast and efficient customer service.

Last but not least, to the travelers looking for decent accommodation and a hot shower, look beyond this hotel, as it can provide neither (thats right they had no hot water!), enjoy your stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — The exit door
  • Disliked — The whole stay
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank danielcabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Squamish hotels

Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

We currently stayed in the sea to sky hotel, what a terrible experience. There was no hot water in the entire hotel. You know I'm not too picky and were willing to look past the dirty rooms, filthy carpets and crooked beds however no hot water??? Come on, you should not be open for business if you can't provide the basics! We couldn't use the hot tub, as it was a freezing cold tub. We could not even have showers as there was no hot water to do so... In numerous attempts to reach the general manager we had no success. He never returned any of our messages. They charged us full price for the room even though they acknowledged that there was no hot water... I feel sorry for the hotel's front desk as she clearly had no support from management. Please keep driving, save your money...

  • Liked — I didn't like anything about this accommodation
  • Disliked — no hot water
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vancouver20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Well. We finally got to the hotel at 3.00am. It was the most unjustified $150 for three hours sleep I have ever spent in my entire life.
The room was spacious enough, but felt dirty. The lamps didn't work and you had to suffer their god awful coffee, and equally disgusting coffeemate. They have a fridge, why the hell don't they put creamers in there!!! The hotel was shabby, and trying to play at being a smart pad. What a joke. I was angry from the time I got there to the time my husband,myself, and three tired children left. We actually prefered to stay in the house we had just bought, up the road. No furniture. Nothing, than to stay another night in an over priced dump.
We had breakfast in the 'restuarant' next door. Cold, greasy, slow service. You name it. Our new life off to a fabulous start.
Just give it a miss. When you see it in daylight, you'll want to anyway.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The entire building.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dadto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

I'm writing this review from the hotel room. Although it's spacious, the carpet is dirty and theres a ring of grunge in the toilet bowl; therefore, I cannot say that this place is clean.

Furthermore, their website proudly proclaims that "high speed internet" is available in their standard rooms but, when I arrived here, I was informed at the front desk that they've been having trouble with the wireless and that it probably wouldn't work. Recognizing this to be just another false promise, I pointed outj that I specifically chose this hotel because it claims to have internet access and asked her to try to find me a room where the chances of it working were better than 50/50.

I ended up on the second floor with noisy neighbours partying on each side of me and with a balcony that is easy to access from any of the other rooms. I've never stayed in a more insecure/unsafe location!

Although it turns out that the internet access works in this room (obviously), here's a list of some of the other problems:

- no iron in the room (contrary to the website's claim)
- the refrigerator doesn't work
- there's no room temperature control and the A/C doesn't work (it's stifling hot in here)
- old, beaten up furniture
- poor lighting
- noisy plumbing
- poor soundproofing between rooms
- so-so food in the restaurant (which has been cited several times for health & safety violations)

Judging from all the activity in the parking lot and liquor store, this dump is a major draw to all the local hooligans who are hoping to get lucky at the adjacent pub.

Need I say it? I won't be staying at this pretentious flophouse again! I'll glady leave it to the boozing ski-bums and underage gangbangers.

  • Liked — The room was large, but that's hardly a priority for ONE traveller.
  • Disliked — The misleading advertising on their website!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank UnpretentiousTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2007

Three of us stayed here for three nights, booking the “Ski Package” when we went skiing in Whistler, about an hour’s drive away, as this hotel was much cheaper than anything in Whistler Village. It satisfied our requirements just fine, though one should not expect a large conference center with abundant facilities, especially given its cheap rates.

The Sea to Sky Conference Center is located within a strip mall; we would have missed it among the supermarket and liquor store were it not for the “Hotel” sign above a set of doors. Parking is ample as it is shared with the other stores. There is a lobby with luggage carts available, and a small elevator.

The “Ski Package Deluxe Room With/2 Doubles, Non-smoking, Private Balcony, Dataport, Free Parking, Coffee Refrigerator and Microwave” room we booked with Expedia® was a decent size, actually including two queen-sized beds. The balcony did have a view of the mountains, though not before first overlooking the highway, the parking lot, and the roof over the lobby containing HVAC equipment. The refrigerator and microwave did come in handy for snacks. There is a cable TV, though the volume is limited enough to make it hard to hear on some channels. Included in this package are a pair of lift tickets at Whistler for every night and a pair of breakfast coupons for the in-house restaurant.

One note of caution however: the cost that appears on Expedia is based on two people, regardless of how many are entered while booking. We had a small issue at the front desk when three people arrived, as they wanted us to pay 150% of the cost. We had called ahead and knew that we’d only be getting two lift tickets for every night we stayed, so it took a while to explain to the clerk at the front desk that we were only given six tickets total (two people for three days). In the end, she agreed to charge us the price listed based on two people, allowing the third person to stay for “free”, but also allowing us to buy one more ticket per day for the third person at a discounted rate. We were fortunate to have researched exactly what the package included before making our booking so that we weren’t surprised at the door.

While this is a conference center, and includes several amenities, they are limited. There is an in-house restaurant that serves three meals. We used it for breakfast included with our package. There is a fitness center that includes a treadmill, an all-in-one machine, and an exercise bicycle, although not all of them were functioning at the time. There is a hot tub that fits four to six people, and a dry sauna.

We found the Sea to Sky Conference Center to be very convenient as it was located with a suburban environment with plenty of supermarkets, department stores, and local eateries in proximity for incidentals and cheap eats. It’s a great place to stay inexpensively if you don’t mind driving to the mountain.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Package feature difficult to determine
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarMung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.7 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
3.0 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 40330 Tantalus Rd | Garibaldi Heights, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 1T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre is ideally located near many of British Columbia’s best places to golf, fish, rock climb, white water raft, hike, sail, sightsee, view eagles, snow and water ski, kayak, dirt and mountain bike. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers guests free high-speed wireless and wired Internet access, free parking with room for large vehicles, hot tub, fax/copy service, guest laundry, meeting space, exercise room and private liquor store. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea To Sky Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing