We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

just returned from and extended weekend stay, have to say the beds were amazing as was the room, had a room backing onto the hwy with no complaints from noise but a great mountain view. Linens and towels were fresh and crisp white just love that. House keeping was again amazing and prompt. My only suggestion would be to have recycling bin for beverage containers and water bottles like other best westerns we have stayed at will return in the future front desk day staff is great night girl could use a little more training when handling group check in and problem solving.

Room Tip: rooms closest to elevator start with 1- and 28 being the largest but the furthest from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candycat272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    131
    51
    17
    18
See reviews for
127
82
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found the hotel to be everything that we had seen it would be. There is a fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board and drip style coffee maker. Excellent beds, firm but not hard. Great pillows, those spongy kind that didn't go flat...very comfortable. Flat panel t.v.....a bit small for the room but still very good. I think it was a 32 inch (guessing). The staff were very good when we asked that a slow draining tub and non working iron be fixed, it was done quick. The shower has an upward extension on it so that taller people will not have to bend. Also, I wish they would have a better coffee maker (like a Keurig) instead of a cheap drip style one with lousy coffee creamer powders. Don't waste your time with the coffee! Luckily, there is a Tim Horton's right next door.
My only complaint was that when we called the front desk to ask if the room had an iron & ironing board (Magallee) said that there wasn't one....which we later found out was wrong. There is one and we packed ours for nothing. Other than that, all in all a very good stay. We were told that the highway side of the hotel was the better side....less noise, and they were right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanbusboyandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

First time we had stayed here, everything perfect, room exceptionally clean, staff very helpful.
We particularly liked the adjacent restaurant, the food there was of a very high standard as was the service, with a beer and wine store attached also this location has everything. Very reasonably priced too !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sentinel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallowater, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is away from the hustle & bustle of Whistler but near enough to make the easy trip back and forth. The staff was very helpful and check in and even warned us of a road closing the following morning. That allowed us the chance to update our plans and make it to Whistler before the closing. Had we not been informed, our day would have been more than cut in half! Things were clean and orderly at this property...and that is all we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a good stop over for one or more nights. We are traveling to Jasper so we were just there one night, but the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. We highly recommend it! We would stay here again if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann_Stan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife, 18 mos old son and I stayed here the weekend of the Ironman in Whistler. We were happy to get a room in the area for sure. Our room was massive. More about that in the tips to get a good room. The internet worked but not well enough for us to watch any videos which was a shame as we had lots of things we wanted to check out on youtube because of the ironman. Parking is ample and there is both outdoor and covered parking depending on what you prefer. The pool has a waterslide as well. We didn't get a chance to use it as the pool was undergoing maintenance while we were there...and the good kind that actually had people working on something not just the "closed for maintenance" sign. Rooms were clean and the staff friendly. We had a great breakfast at the attached restaurant...a nice twist on eggs benny where they used a portobello mushroom cap instead of an english muffin

Room Tip: We stayed in room 228. It was massive. According to the fire escape charts it's about twice the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, BC, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful during my stay. As we had a power outage in the region, the staff was active in walking guest to their rooms and ensuring the best comfort possible. The wi-fi sure can use some improvements. We were unable to connect from our room and had to go to the lobby for use of our computer & iPad. The pool and fitness room was good. Overall it was a good trip and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing