We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice, great prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great choice, great prices”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel was clean and comfortable, conveniently located. The woman at reception was very friendly, helpful, efficient. There is a great restaurant in the building and also a beer and wine store. Tim Horton's is very close. The price was the lowest we paid on our vacation around Alberta and BC. Excellent value for your travelling dollar. Squamish is beautiful, and I wish we had chosen to stay longer than our overnight visit to do a little exploring.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for this nice review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through our area.
Barbara Clendenning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    130
    51
    17
    18
See reviews for
126
82
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PEI
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Pulled in during a storm and found, sheltered parkade parking with easy access, friendly staff, and clean, quiet rooms. Even a water slide in the pool. And inexpensive! Easily the best bargain of any stop, either campground or hotel, on our July-long cross-Canada road trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for writing this review of our hotel. I hope you got to try our water slide too.
Barbara Clendenning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Best Western Squamish, instead of Whistler to conserve our $$ this is a great location. It is a 50 minute drive to Whistler BC, and my 2 teen girls really enjoyed the 2-3 story water slide in the indoor pool in the evenings.
The Hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful, there is NO comp. breakfast and the on site Restaurant is a bit expensive for families. We took advantage of a nearby McDonald's for breakfast .

Room Tip: Ask for the Mtn. views and top floor. No roadway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traverler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy the girls enjoyed our water slide .
Barbara Clendenning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Loved this hotel. The staff was wonderful. They were all very friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Great location. Would go back again if staying in Squamish.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Barbara Clendenning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Best Western often offers continental breakfast. This one didn't-which was disappointing. I know they are independently owned but come on! The woman at the front counter at check-in was a little gruff. No 'hello' or 'how are you.' We started to show her our printed page from this website and she snapped 'I don't need to see that.' She then had us fill out a form and handed us a room key. She did not mention anything about check-out or our room number, etc! The room itself was fine. It was clean and it had a mini fridge and microwave. It was stocked with very basic items-nothing fancy. The pool is small but it has a slide which some people would like. The pool hours are great! 6am-10pm. The check-out staff were much friendlier-they were pleasant and asked how our stay was, etc. This hotel was fine. I certainly wasn't blown away and I have had better experiences at other Best Western locations.

Room Tip: Booked through hotwire.ca
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaClaireE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

we recently stayed here at this hotel as a family, booked online got a super rate, requested second floor received second floor, requested extra towels they were waiting in our room upon arrival. The children enjoyed the pool and water slide. The rooms were bigger then we had anticipated, beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and and had been updated.
The location was very close to everything
check in went very smooth there was alot of people checking in this weekend for bmx racing. The only thing that wasnt smooth was the check out there was again a large amount of people all checking out at the same time and only having one person on the desk had everyone lined up out the doors to check out.
But overall our stay and the quality of service from staff was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candycat272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for your stay with us. We take customer service at our Hotel as priority one.

Barbara Clendenning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Have stayed in this hotel several times. This was the first time since it was remodelled after becoming a Best Western. In addition to decor changes (painting, carpet, drapes, etc) they have also upgraded the beds, added minifridges & coffee machines.

Pool has a waterslide (very cold water). Hot tub is small. We were there for a soccer tournament so it was at capacity.

Check in was a bit chaotic. But it was because their was a large number of groups with specific requests all checking in at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoastcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for noticing our properties improvements, and we will continue in becoming Squamish's premiere family hotel.

Barbara Clendenning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
163 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
158 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing