We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy flavourful spicy food”
Review of Essence of India

Essence of India
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Squamish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Recently renovated and triple the size, The Essence of India has become the place to be in Squamish. Same fresh authentic food and great service, you will never be disapointed. The menu offers a great variety of vegetarian and vegan options. Make sure to give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!
1 review
“Yummy flavourful spicy food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every visit, whether eat in or take out, is fast, courteous, and the food is delicious and so authentically flavourful! Make sure you try their vegetarian dishes, especially chili paneer! Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiesquamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    34
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
“Again, the best food & owners EVER!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Back again for more wonderful food..There is absolutely no where else in BC to have such amazing food & pesonalised care & love...It's like being welcomed into their very own home :) You MUST go here! Nothing compares. Best.Ever. & 5 years in a row now voted #1 restaurant. & well deserved. I drive from Langley to go there...240kms round trip & worth it :) I LOVE YOU!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM...”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

...tucked away in a back street amidst a myriad of small independently operated restaurants and eateries, Essence of India is a welcome reprieve from the traffic of Highway 99 and the bombardment of big-box shopping possibilities that line it. Once through the modest entrance, one does experience an essence of India. The air is saturated with exotic scent and the hubbub of enthusiastic diners, which on the night I visited appeared to be a local crowd. Despite the smallness of the dining space, just a few tables, the solitary waitress maintained not only a steady flow of food served in copper dishes that kept their contents at a succulent temperature, but a constant dialogue with the steady stream of customers of both eat-in and take-out persuasion.

My mother and I, passing through Squamish that evening, were pleasantly surprised with not only the atmosphere, but the wild salmon tikka, which as one of the specials of the evening, was not only reasonable in price, but abundant in quantity and flavor. I highly recommend this eating establishment. Not only is the food very satisfying, but there is a personality about the service with obvious care on the part of the chef to not only express the name of his restaurant in a creative and authentic manner within the food he prepares, but periodically to step out of the kitchen and visit with the diners. In a modest way, this approach enhances the intimacy of the small space and creates a familiarity that is both comfortable and comforting...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank whitetiger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in a small town, unexpected!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The proprietor was incredibly nice and friendly, the atmosphere appropriately other worldly, the food very original and interesting, with a wide variety of spices. The raita was quite good, very willing to accommodate special requests. Liked the use of fresh seafood. A crowd pleaser. I heard that the students of nearby Quest University are thinking of starting a club called "Essence of India" for their students who are fans and who regularly frequent this restaurant. I highly recommend eating here. I'd go back today if it weren't 3,000 miles away!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlynKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We shall return!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped by for lunch a couple of weeks back. The quality and prices did not disappoint. We'll be coming back with the kids this weekend so that we can try some more dishes!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomniebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence of India also viewed

Squamish, British Columbia
Brackendale, Squamish
 
Squamish, British Columbia
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
 
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
Squamish, British Columbia
 

Been to Essence of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing