We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and new, but something missing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean and new, but something missing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sandman Hotel to attend a wedding. The hotel was nice, but wasn't anything special.

There was nothing actually wrong with the hotel, but it didn't quite seem to have it all together yet. For example, the bathroom was clean, but the soap tray was already loose. The room furniture was comfortable and clean, but didn't seem to go together.

Breakfast was included, which was nice, though the selection was somewhat lacking compared to other hotels of this level.

So, nothing really wrong with this hotel, but I wouldn't call it spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBI747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    83
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
85
66
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very new hotel with big rooms in a quiet location. Air con a bit noisy and no plates or cutlery in rooms despite kitchenette. Breakfast had a poor choice ( go to Fergies) especially as it is in an activity area..... Hopefully these are teething problems as has great potential.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped in for one night on our way up to Whister. We weren't sure what to expect (some of the hotels in the Squamish area are a little older), but were pleasantly surprised with a new, modern hotel. The room was roomy and clean. The front counter staff were very friendly when asked about dinner options, etc. The hotel sits by itself, surrounded by green space for now (looks like there are plans to develop lots nearby) but pretty near everything in Squamish is within a 5-10 minute drive. There is a Walmart close by for any needed supplies and the downtown shops, coffee shops and pub are just a few blocks away. More dinner options are also a short drive up to the next two set of lights off of the highway. The "Chief" rock formation is near and you can look for rock climbers making their way it up as you drive by or take advantage of the hiking trails. Quiet and clean place. Mini fridge, microwave, wet bar provided. We had a continental breakfast included. Good value. Situated about 45 minutes from Whistler and 45 minutes from Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giddymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family and I stayed in Squamish for a night for a grad ceremony. We stayed at the Sandman Hotel and were quite impressed with the clean, spacious room (fit all 5 of us comfortably) and great customer service. The front desk clerk was very welcoming and friendly. The rooms had comfy beds, big windows and a sizeable bathroom which came in handy when we were all trying to get ready for the ceremony. Great value for the price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelingfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is very clean and updated. Beds are comfy, flat screen tvs are nice. The fitness center was small but good. The staff is friendly. When i checked in, the man and woman at the desk went out of their way to give me information about the area. They were incredibly helpful. I wish I remember their names, because they deserve credit.

My first room was a bit noisy (the tv in the next room was loud) so the staff moved me into a quieter room without hassle. Unfortunately I lost my mountain view, but I got a good night's sleep.

The breakfast is what it is: fruit, toast, cereal, bagels, hard boiled eggs, etc. It seemed to be the only hotel in town that served a complimentary continental breakfast, which is a big plus before a day of climbing. Everything was fresh.

The pool was under construction, which was the only drawback. It looks like it will be great once it's finished.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Overall a very pleasant stay - brand new, spotless room, large bathroom, nice TV, A/C, small bar area with fridge/microwave/sink, very comfortable bed. Staff were organized and helpful. The hotel is kind of on the edge of town, and it seems the pool area is not quite open yet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in many hotels/motels on a two week trip, but this was the nicest room we had. The price was very reasonable, so we were quite surprised that it was so large, modern and even had TWO flat screen TVs (a first). The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was a good size and there was even a sink with the fridge and microwave. An excellent choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain. Very pretty. Don't miss the waterfall down the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Squamish hotels
1.9 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
1.6 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
Address: Sandman 39400 Discovery Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0R5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squamish is known as the 'Outdoor Recreational Capital' of Canada. Situated in a quiet area just off the Sea to Sky highway, Sandman Hotel & Suites - Squamish is surrounded by an affluence of recreational activities and parks, including Shannon Falls Provincial Park, Stawamus Chief Provincial Park, and Brackendale Eagles Provincial Park. Sandman Hotel & Suites - Squamish is the perfect place for an adventure-filled holiday or a short stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Squamish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing