We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, great atmosphere and excellent beer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howe Sound Brew Pub

Howe Sound Brew Pub
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Squamish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere and excellent beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is a welcome addition to Squamish. It's modern, has capitalized on the consumer movement to hand crafted beer by introducing a brew master. There are rooms to rent much like a Mountain Lodge only offering excellent food and a friendly atmosphere. If you are going to Whistler, this is a great spot to stop for lunch. Or make a trip of it, go for dinner and stay the night, you will not be disappointed. Home cooked feeling so never far from home.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    157
    54
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The pizza was good; the burger exceeded my expectations. Everyone in our group was happy with their food. Their beer is just great! It's also toddler-friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mel9250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good microbrews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been going here for years. Love the atmosphere and beers. Consistent good service is needed, although lately it does seem to be improving.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Sometimes the food is great. The next day it's terrible. I've had a couple of great services, but most of the time it's slow and the servers don't give a [--]. Considering how many new employees I see every time I go there it's obvious that they have a high turnover of transient employees that don't care about their job.
I was once a regular but not anymore. I've had one too many bad service. The atmosphere is not very comfortable either: large cafeteria-like setting with a high ceiling makes conversations difficult and a loss of hearing due to their high-volume, echoey sound system.
If you like good pub food at a comfortable, non-deafening pub atmosphere I highly recommend The Shady Tree Pub instead. I go there now even though I live a block away from the Brew Pub.
On the other hand, their in-house brewed beer is very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moondog604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has to be the best casual place in Squamish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stopped for a beer, poutine and chowder before hiking the Chief the next day. All good, beer and food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howe Sound Brew Pub also viewed

Brackendale, Squamish
Squamish, British Columbia
 
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
Brackendale, Squamish
 
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
Squamish, British Columbia
 

Been to Howe Sound Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing