We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Country Inn

Bear Country Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terrace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Terrace
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've stayed here twice and have been disappointed both times. The rooms are old and dingy, furniture is broken (chair & desk), phone was covered in sticky goo and the channel changer didn't work. Better to stay at the Best Western with their broken elevator or the Sandman. Only stayed here because the Sandman was full.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
7
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was in BCI around the summer, stayed between hotels with a friend of mine. There are a few things to keep in mind, one, a lot of these hotels/inns were built before the internet so the wifi is a little off. The second thing is that it is a central building, so it's bound to be noisy. Three, people are people and I appreciate the trouble these folks went through to haul my tail from room to room. It seems they were in the middle of renovation for some rooms, but I can't really complain. I noticed a bit of mildew on the bathroom floors, the shower curtains were different in each room I stayed in. The blankets look like they were made for a smaller bed. I found a slight humor in seeing the flat pillow mixed with an oversized poofy pillow on one bed when I stayed in a two bedded room. The day before I left Terrace, I decided to stay in my room, that's when I noticed the maid had been in and out of the rooms without vacuuming, explains the grains of sand in between my sheets and muddy bathroom floors tsk-tsk tsk tsk...I tried to leave that on a comment form but I forgot to hand it in. I do like the atmosphere; the entire visit was great. Aside from the odd sirens in the night, the heater/air conditioner located beneath the window? That's a little more noisy in some rooms as well.

Room Tip: Choose for a top floor, the TV reception is best. The maids are not room service (which is what I fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had heard many good things about the Bear Country Inn, and the pictures online looked impressive so I thought that this justified the price of $147 for one night. On Nov 1, 2013, my family and I rented room 121. I have never written a review before, and I am sitting here right now IN the hotel room beyond disgusted and writing this review (because I wish someone else had before we came here). The list of complaints is huge - first the rooms here have a strong odor and the room feels like a cheap motel with decor from the 90s - but that wouldn't be so bad if it was actually clean. There is a yellow sticky stain on the night stand (that could have been washed off - says alot that it wasn't), some poo spots inside the toilet (eww), no fitted sheets. There also are no extra pillows or extra blankets, and the room is quite cold - heated by one tiny electric heater in the bathroom. This is not the place in Terrace to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheldon-Christi... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Terrace hotels

Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed on Tuesday, October 29,2013. You can hear everything outside and also the people moving around upstairs. The bed was super cozy. The room had an odor from the carpet. The bathroom was spotless, Old but spotless. My biggest complaint is usually water pressure.....no lack of it in this room as there was plenty. The remote would not work properly so I had to get up and change channel.. Haha how lazy am I. The front desk staff were very nice and accommodating. I would reccomend this hotel because I have stayed elsewhere in town and this is a better option. You have to book in advance in Terrace or you may find yourself without a room. I would reccomend the 2nd floor because you probably would not hear the people outside as much nor would you hear anyone above you. Make sure to plug in the fridge not just turn it on or you will have warm items....rookie mistake. central location walking distance to liquor store, restaurants and shopping. I did not eat at the restaurant but they do have one. There is a movie theatre right next door.

Room Tip: Sleep on 2nd floor maybe on the inside not facing the street as it would less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Whenever we come to Terrace to either shop for groceries and need to stay overnight, we choose BCI; their service is excellent, and rooms are comfortable, and clean, very inviting; the staff are very helpful in all our needs, especially if we are there for medical reasons (stuck in town). The restaurant has great food and service! Always feel rested after an overnight stay here! This particular trip was a combination of pleasure and medical.

Room Tip: We like and need ground floor, on the south side of motel, but the other side is swell too! Love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

When I look at these reviews is seems like they are talking about a different place. Our family stays at the Bear Country a lot for various reasons and it has always been pleasant. The rooms are always clean and tidy and the price reasonable. We have really enjoyed the new beds they got last year. The location is really convenient and the restaurant is always good. Don't be afraid to give this place a try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

i had originaly booked the sandman but after several issues with my check in staff and poor room quality i stayed at the bear country on the advice of a family member and let me tell you i'll never take her word for anything again the rooms are poorly lit and somewhat dingy the only thing in the room thats "modern" is the tv the walls are paper thin and the internet is comparable to dialup with a 14.4 modem im actually getting better speeds using my cellphone as a hotspot overall i will never stay here again and wouldnt recomend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wandering-installer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrace
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Terrace Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Terrace
Days Inn Terrace
#4 of 9 in Terrace
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandman Inn Terrace
Sandman Inn Terrace
#8 of 9 in Terrace
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terrace
2.1 mi away
Kalum Motel
Kalum Motel
#5 of 9 in Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rest Inn
Rest Inn
#2 of 9 in Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Country Inn

Property: Bear Country Inn
Address: 4702 Lakelse Ave, Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V8G 1R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kitimat-Stikine District > Terrace
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outside access motel rooms on 2 floors. One bedrooms have Queen or King (xtra charge) Sealy posturepedic mattresses. Two bed rooms have xtra long doubles. Executive rooms with jetted tubs. All rooms have air-conditioning/heat, wireless internet, coffee, fridges, some with microwaves, cable, movies. Kitchenettes available (xtra charge). Licensed family restaurant with tasty favorites and good value for the money. Meeting room, convenient location, across from medical centre, movie theatre, shopping malls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Terrace
Terrace Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing