We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a rip off.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Terrace
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Terrace
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stewart, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its a rip off.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Do not let the fancy front desk fool you, when you get out of the elevator to go to your room the stench is bad, a possible mix of mold/ urine/ puke, and POOF! you are back in the 70s. The carpet is dirty and old, the bathrooms are moldy, there are homeless (I assume) people hanging around the vehicles in the parking lot. The bedding had a bad smell. My asthma instantly flared up. The bathroom door would not close. THERE WAS NO HOT WATER. I have read a lot of reviews on this hotel, 90+% bad, and the no hot water issue has been ongoing. I was lied to about the boiler for hot water by staff. I was not provided with a reciept, in person or by email as promised.
I plan to contact the better business bureau if I do not recieve a refund. Do yourself a favour and book ahead at a different hotel in Terrace, if you dont you may have this hotel as an only option, and I will sleep in my truck before I stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    31
    15
    30
See reviews for
28
17
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our room was ok, but some doors on our floor were taped up !Quite eerie !An excellent breakfast was available at Best Western 5 minutes walk away, due to restaurant being re furbished, ok unless it rains ! Stayed 2 nights, however room was not cleaned after first nights stay due to room maid not showing ! Did expect a discount but none given, receptionist could not get in touch with Manager. There is a nightclub attached which was very noisy till early hours. WiFi available in reception but printer was not working, so no use to us. Could do with a good clean, new carpets and redecoration everywhere.

Room Tip: Best rooms probably at the back far end away from nightclub and main road if you want to chance a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susiesquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Terrace hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was extremely disappointed with my stay at this hotel and the worst part about it is that the owner doesn’t seem to care – apparently there’s a shortage of rooms in the city and they’re always full so there’s no need to maintain any minimum standards.
The rooms are not kept up from holes in the walls and ceilings to rotting window sills and cracked tiles in the bathroom. I was stuck beside a room that I assume was being fumigated and breakfast was included except that I had to walk down the street to a different hotel. (Needless to say, I didn’t risk the food given the room was barely maintained.) The internet signal was extremely weak and to top it all off, there was no hot water for my shower.
I asked the staff for directions but they weren’t able to help – the girl at the desk couldn’t even tell me what street bordered the hotel. She said she was new which is fine but to not know what street your own hotel is on. C’mon.
I’ll be back to Terrace but definitely not back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Time2Travel_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay at this hotel last for a total of half an hour. My friend was assigned a room with someone already in it. Staff changed their story several times - first quoting computer malfunctions and then telling us that an intruder had entered the room that morning when the maids were cleaning. She was assigned a new room. My room had not been cleaned - sticky residue on the bedside table. Then we noticed that several rooms down the hall from us were sealed shut with tape. Suspecting that they were being fumigated for bed bugs we immediately checked our own rooms. There were telltale blood spots on my friend's mattress. We asked front desk about bed bugs and fumigation and she did not answer. Thankfully she gave us a refund without question and we left immediately. At this point it was late at night and we found that ALL of the hotels/motels/B&Bs in Terrace and surrounding area were full. We had no choice but to turn right around and drive 2 hours back home. We missed the conference that we had driven to Terrace for in the first place. All of this could have been avoided by simply booking somewhere else. To top it off the customer service was horrible - the management and desk staff were completely dismissive. We had also noticed that there were several people on our floor that really did not seem like travellers - we suspected that there are actually people living in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Northern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had made reservations a couple of week ahead of time stating we had two small children who will be with us along with their grandmother. We were then booked in a room above the caberet and got next to no sleep. When we complained about the noise, we were told the receptionist who booked us was drunk at the time. We were then moved to a roome with only one king size bed!!!!! Not accomidating at all!!!!! I would not recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is no longer a Coast chain hotel, and is simply named The Inn of the West. I wonder if maybe the owners weren't keeping the place up to franchise standards. My room was quiet and reasonably clean, but very basic and dated. Seems a tad overpriced for what you get. The restaurant was closed, the ATM was out of service. Front-counter staff seemed disengaged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC_Dave7720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Not an average Coast hotel chain. Rooms are noisy and needs updating to a Coast standard

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank reenz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrace
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Terrace Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terrace
0.6 mi away
Sandman Inn Terrace
Sandman Inn Terrace
#8 of 9 in Terrace
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rest Inn
Rest Inn
#2 of 9 in Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper River Motel
Copper River Motel
#3 of 9 in Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kalum Motel
Kalum Motel
#5 of 9 in Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Terrace

Property: Days Inn Terrace
Address: 4620 Lakelse Avenue, Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V8G 1R1, Canada (Formerly Inn of the West)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kitimat-Stikine District > Terrace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Terrace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Days Inn - Terrace offers 58 spacious rooms, an on-site restaurant with free buffet breakfast, free Wi-Fi Internet access, conference and banquet space for up to 250 people, plus an on-site fitness centre. A fabulous choice for travellers seeking an outdoor adventure, the hotel is conveniently located near major attractions, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast West
Coast Hotel Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing