We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a very quiet place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwood Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a very quiet place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed before but this time was very frustrating. We were woken up at 6 by a very rude guest who had to start his or hers Harley up and let it idle for 15 minutes before leaving. Then at 8 o clock House keeping comes to try and clean our room considering 11 o clock is check out. Very disappointed and tired!!!

Room Tip: Demand to put away from the cafe end of the motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMMER1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest, I am really sorry that you had such a negative experience at the Glenwood Motel, I sincerely hope this apology will help restore your faith in our Motel. Please rest assured that we are taking this matter extremely seriously as we always strive for service excellence in all departments especially housekeeping. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and please know that early morning room checks are not the usual housekeeping procedures at the Glenwood. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and I invite you to come back to the Glenwood so that you can have a truly relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
21
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Glenwood offers everything the weary traveller might need. Although I did not take advantage of the outdoor or indoor pool, I am sure after a hot day, both would be inviting. Although check in was slow, we were very happy with all the ammenites in our room, which was recently updated.The queen pillow-top bed was divine after a weary day of travelling.Bathroom fixtures were new, note to housekeeping, our room lacked a non-slip bathmat. The cosmetic ammenities were all Neutrogena, what a bonus for me. And thank you for providing Seattle's Best Coffee for the in-room coffee maker,, another bonus! We also appreciate parking our car right in front of our room as well. The upgrades I am sure are on going, perhaps small flat screen TV's are next?! Next time we are in need of a comfortable, affordable motel in the West Kootenay's, it will be the Glenwood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1WestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear 1WestCoast, Thank you for such a great review of our motel. We're always looking for ways to add value to our guest's stay. We enjoy providing quality amenities be it coffee or toiletries that will make one's stay more comfortable. Yes we are continuing with our upgrades as we have recently put in new King Sized beds and new linens and duvets. Hopefully next time you stay at the Glenwood you'll be able to have a relaxing soak in the hot tub. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Glenwood for three nights last weekend to attend a wedding. Our room was clean and fairly quiet (considering the motel was full of wedding guests). The building is old and has been somewhat upgraded over the years. The toilet in our room was loose and rocked back and forth on the tile floor. This was rather annoying to us and probably to our adjoining neighbours with the clunking noise whenever it moved. This seems a relatively simple item to fix. So, we were surprised that they don't tend to it. Also, there is no smoking in any of the rooms. However, you have to walk through all the smokers who are encouraged to smoke on the decks outside of the rooms. We had not seen this type of smoking arrangement since the 1980s. You don't have many accomodation choices in Trail. So, I would not discount this motel, but I would try to do a little more homework before returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor with a separate bedroom. This allows some space between the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Brian S, Thank you for your review about your stay at our property. I understand that it is uncomfortable to have to smell cigarette smoke, however in order to keep the guests from smoking in the rooms we allow them to smoke outside. At the time of your stay we recently had retiled all our bathroom floors and were having issues with the screws holding the toilets in place. I can assure you that that has been remedied and there are no more rocking toilets. Next time you're in town I invite you to stay at the Glenwood motel again. Thank you for you comments they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My friend had an appointment in trail Hospital at 6:00am I took her to Trail the day before so we didn't have to get up at 4:00am to get there in time she stayed in the Glenwood Motel I had to go home have sick wife.
Guess what Trail taxies don't start working until 7:00am and they are all booked up first thing in the morning
That left my friend no way to get to the hospital Trail hospital in time
My friend got lucky Hal from the Glenwood Motel got up at 4:00am to get my friend to the hospital in time for her surgery. A normal citizen with more brains and heart than IHA
If I had Glenwood motel business cards I post them all over the province because of Hal's help

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stusa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Strusa, thank you for sharing your friends experience on trip advisor. It is very unfortunate that the taxi cab service is so limited. I am pleased that Hal was able to help your friend get to the hospital in time for her surgery. We are lucky to have such a helpful member on our front desk team. Thank you for sharing your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the Glenwood Motel and found it to be very clean and comfortable. Although it is on the main highway, it is very quiet. The clerks at the reception desk are very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend this motel to anyone requiring a place to stay in the Trail area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Dinny, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our motel. Our office staff and housekeepers strive to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible and I'm pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Glenwood Motel in Trail for 2 nights. We were traveling with our large sheepdog and were given a 'mini-suite'. Mini fridge/microwave/coffeemaker, queen bed in the main room, queen bed in a separate bedroom. $20 per night dog fee and room rate was $79.99. The Glenwood is a sister facility of the local Best Western Hotel. (The front desk closes at 11 pm, so if you arrive later you can pick up your room key at the Best Western)
There is a cafe onsite which offers a great breakfast. Friendly staff, very comfortable beds and this place is CLEAN !

Room Tip: we stayed in a mini suite (room 48)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garden-witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Glenwood. We are happy to be a dog friendly motel as we understand that sometimes you cannot leave them at home. Being a sister property to the Best Western Columbia River gives us the ability to accommodate our guests that may not be able to check in before our office closes. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creston bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed one night. Room was clean. Beds were reasonably comfortable.The sink was in the Bedroom.Weird?? There was no Senior Rate. There was no Veterans Rate. There was no Hospital Rate.We will recommend to our friends in Creston who have Medical appointments,to travel the extra 20 kms to Castelgar. We will not use this over priced motel again.

Stan Klippenstein Creston BC

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanCrestonBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi H, Front Office Manager at Glenwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Mr Kippenstein, Thank you for your comments, they are appreciated. Our motel does offer Seniors Rates as well as Hospital Rates for our guests however, when you book and pay for your room online, at a site such as Expedia and not on the Glenwoodmotel.com website, the discounts do not show. Next time you’re in Trail for hospital or other reasons please call our motel directly at 1-800-667-9544 so that we can give you the Seniors/Hospital Rate. Again thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trail
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
5.7 mi away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
6.2 mi away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#4 of 4 in Rossland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
6.5 mi away
Rossland Motel
Rossland Motel
#3 of 4 in Rossland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ray Lyn Motel
Ray Lyn Motel
#3 of 3 in Trail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Inn & Suites

Property: Glenwood Inn & Suites
Address: 2769 Glenwood Drive, Trail, British Columbia V1R 2S6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Trail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glenwood Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Glenwood Motel & Residences, located in the heart of beautiful Trail British Columbia and just 11 kilometers to the Trail Regional Airport. Recognized over the years for our heavenly beds and award winning housekeeping, the Glenwood Motel & Residences is set to be your favorite place to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Glenwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Inn & Suites Trail, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing