We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribou Grill

Caribou Grill
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Valemount
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thank you for choosing to explore the Caribou Grill Restaurant in Valemount, British Columbia! We offer: Prime Rib AAA Sterling Silver Beef Wild Salmon Venison Seafood Pasta Kids Menu Vegetarian Options All meals include a basket of our freshly baked Cheese Bread. About Our Restaurant Your hosts Patricia and Rudi Thoni began construction of their authentic log building in the summer of 1998 and opened for business in May 1999. The interior reflects the back woods log cabin theme with beautiful wildlife mounts, native artifacts, leather art and comfortable high back chairs. The incredible beauty that surrounds Valemount is what brought Rudi and Patricia to the area and is what keeps them here. If you are looking for a short hike or to stay in one of our local backcountry cabins, please inquire with Patricia for some tips on the great hiking opportunities or to book a cabin.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We loved the food and the gorgeous log cabin. Thisis our 2nd dinner and it was as wonderful as the first!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    154
    37
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to dine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food and service here are excellent, very reasonably priced. The major reason we stay in Valemount when traveling through.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very attractive dining room, with exceptionally comfortable chairs. Quick, friendly service. Excellent food (good choice, very tasty, and reasonably priced). The line of cars in the car park shows that this place has a good reputation, and rightly so. Most people seem to eat quite early (around 6:00 pm), but you won't have to wait long for a table even if you arrive at the peak time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Loved the Caribou Grill. Had the 'special' that night and nothing disappointed. Staff were attentive without being annoying. Food was very well cooked and delicious. Would come back and would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynneharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed just one night in Valemount and, although our hotel was disappointing, our dining experiences were not! Upon recommendation we went to the Caraboo Grill for dinner on a Sunday evening and our service was friendly and prompt and our meals were very good! Our waitress gave suggestions and was very accommodating. We didn't go anywhere else in town for a sit down meal, but based on word of mouth and our own experience, we're pretty sure this is one of the best places to dine in Valemount! The only minor thing that perhaps some might change is the decor...it's rather unassuming with an air of "grandma made me this macrome picture back in grade school...." to it....but I actually found that a bit charming.... If you're spending a night in Valemount, make your way over to the train tracks and dine here!

Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribou Grill also viewed

Valemount, British Columbia
Valemount, British Columbia
 
Valemount, British Columbia
Valemount, British Columbia
 
Valemount, British Columbia
Valemount, British Columbia
 

Been to Caribou Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing