We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older motel showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valemount
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Older motel showing its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here on our way back from Edmonton over the holidays... It is certainly not the pinnacle of accommodations but it was about what we had expected by what we read on the internet. We had a two double bed room which was quite small. Despite being older it was clean. The beds are overdue to be changed out and an entire retrofit of the complex is desperately needed. But it's not really worth complaining. This is a budget motel which is usually going to be used for one night as you pass through town. For those purposes it was just fine. It was clean, the staff were friendly and it served the purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear topal32,

Thank you for your review regarding our hotel Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. We apreciate your honest yet kind words regarding the hotel. We do hope you choose to stay with us again and if so request a queen room inside the building (non-smoking) as they are much bigger. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    37
    34
    57
See reviews for
53
43
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is not particularly "premier," it is not on or particularly near a mountain, and it is not a lodge.
This is a roadside motel that is certainly showing its age.
Staff were friendly enough but amenities were very basic.
Free wireless internet worked most of the time but was often slow.
TV channels - only about six, on an old tube TV with iffy reception.
The attached restaurant is closed on Sundays (in August? Really?).
They gave me three 10%-off coupons for the restaurant when I checked in.
I was staying Saturday-Monday so could only use two.
They obviously cater to bus tours, because the place is full on alternate days and practically empty in between. Choose a day without bus tours if you can.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite(only 1) was only about $150 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Bruce M,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. I am sorry to hear that your stay was an unplesant one. Our hotel is situated in a valley surrounded by beautiful mountains and the reason we call our hotel Premier Mountain Lodge is because our hotel faces the Premier Mountain Ranges. If you were to look it up on google it has plenty of information. We are currently in the works of fixing, painting changing and upgrading our hotel. I'm sorry the restaurant was closed on the sunday. There is usually a good explination why we have to close it at certain times. Thank you.

Regards,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valemount hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed while passing through. Room was supposed to be a queen suite. Instead dated and very small. Air conditioning worked in room but not in restaurant which was too uncomfortable to enjoy both supper or breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tecia3097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Tecia3097,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel, Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. We apologize that you were not placed in the room type that you requested. Sometimes we too make mistakes. We ask that if any of our guests have any issues to please inform the front desk and we can work together in addressing the situation and finding a solution. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one night while passing through Valemount. The room was small (there was very little space to walk around the king bed), the deadbolt on the door didn't work properly, the furniture and bedding was very dated and the building needs some TLC. Our rate included breakfast in the restaurant and it was good. OK place to stay for one night if you get it for a good price but if you pay rack rates there are better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travel_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear The_Travel_G0dd...,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel, Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. We encourage all our guests to please inform the front desk if you have any concerns. We are always happy to help, if it be moved to another more spacious room, new bedding, another pillow, maintenance issues, or any other issues that may arise. We need to know in order to have the issue addressed. We are working towards updating our hotel and rooms and do appreciate all the suggestions we get from our guests. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We purchased a Dealfind voucher for this place as we were traveling through the Rockies this summer and wow, what a mistake! The hotel was HORRID, the rooms were beyond dingy and the place is nothing like it tries to present itself as. Forget the dated colours and occasional fake plants, we found a crusty shelled bug in the bed, blood on the sheets, no remote for a TV from the 80s, furniture that was mismatched and almost fell apart (maybe it was purchased from a very weathered garage sale?). The upper floor on the outdoor walkway outside the rooms felt like it had rotting wood and we almost expected to fall through. There is NOT ONE redeeming thing about this dive; we demanded a refund (which thankfully we obtained from the reluctant manager) and we got the hell out of there!!! Mercifully there was a room left at the Ramada a few doors down and we were able to stay the night in Valemount as planned instead of making a midnight run to Jasper for some sleep. We are fine with staying in motels and are not snobs but this place was just too much. BUYERS BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Incommudro,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel, Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. On our website it does show up to date pictures of our hotel. We are aware that it is out dated and are in the process of changing that. During the early summer we had fresh flowers but due to complaints about allergies we decided to change to fake arrangements. Since August we have made the arrangements fuller with more colors. In every room we do keep the controller ontop of the television. We also encourage all of our guests to please contact the front desk with any issues so we could work on a solution. We assure you that our housekeepers who worked on this room are very thorough and clean. As for the shelled bug, before the housekeepers left, the room was spotless and the sheets were cleaned, We do apologize for what ever error occured in order to have had this happen. Since then we have had our walkway fixed and in much better condition then what it was. We have many guests who have wrote reviews on trip advisor and many left in house comment cards. We have had many bad reviews and many good reviews. We've been hard at work trying to fix and update our hotel. We thought we were doing good by addressing our Jacuzzi Suite and King Suites with new bedding and a beautiful arrangement of flowers to help better our guests stay. We have been short staffed at the best of times and we have had a busy summer with not much time to close out rooms to start with renovations. We thank you all with all the suggestions and comments as it helps us better the hotel and better ourselves. We do sincerely apologize for this one unpleasant experience. We want everyone to enjoy their stay. Everyone is their own person, some may like to sit by the fire and party, some may want a quiet atmosphere. Some may think their room is cozy, clean, spacious and comfortable as others think it's dirty, out dated and a dive. Please feel free to contact our hotel with many questions before booking. If you want a special request we will see what we can do. If you booked online or by telephone please give the hotel a call to make sure they got the booking right and have wrote down any special request you may need. Thank you again for the review and please understand it is not our intention on making your stay an unpleasant one.

Regards,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Last week my husband and I passed through on 2 nights. Thursday night, we found the "honeymoon suite" very spacious and clean. Yet dated and needed some repairs. Staff was friendly.
Sat night we came with our small boy, housekeepers were still working at 7pm, pizza was burnt, staff didn't know what they were doing, waiter said that there's a party every other night and basically the hotel has a name to accommodate young people who like to drink and party.Quiet nights don't happen.
Sure enough we got woken up at 3am by loud f language, broken glass in the grass in the morning,smell of campfire smoke lingering, etc.
If you're over 30 and want a quiet mountain escape...stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Pauline F,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel, Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. We are happy to hear that the room was clean and spacious. Our housekeepers strive to do the best that they can even if it means working late into the night. Being in such a small town sometimes we find ourselves short staffed at the best of times. As for the partying, It is usually a quiet hotel with the odd tour group and guests who like to sit in the courtyard around the warm fire. We have had many guests say how enjoyable it was with some guests who were saying the opposite. We assure you that this will be the last of it though. We appologize on behalf of the hotel and staff. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

When we pulled up to this hotel we were a bit worried. We got a room with 3 queens on the top (2nd) floor. The rooms are definitely old but the beds were clean and comfy with new top matresses. There was one queen just as you walk in the door and then 2 more queens in a large room with a large area for kids to play in, through an adjoining door. That room also had a table and 2 lg arm chairs and a TV.
There is also a small green space in the middle of the parking lot that has a fire pit, BQ, and chairs.
We only stayed the one night and were happy with our choice as we could not beat the price for all the space.
We did not use the pool and the restaurant was closed that day for breakfast. All the staff were very friendly. With a few upgrades this place would suite all travellers but if you are going for looks not practicality and cost, this probably is not the choice for you.

Room Tip: If renting a room with 3 beds, the first room just inside the door does not house the AC unit so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchintogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierMountainLodge, Front Office Manager at Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Itchintogo2,
Thank you for your kind review regarding our hotel, Premier Mountain Lodge and Suites. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all the honest and kind remarks. True our hotel is in need of some upgrading and remodeling and are slowly working our way up to it. Thank you again.

Sincerly,
Premier Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valemount hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Valemount
Super 8 Valemount
#3 of 7 in Valemount
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Continental Motel
Chalet Continental Motel
#4 of 7 in Valemount
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Valemount Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Valemount
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#6 of 7 in Valemount
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
12.1 mi away
Tete Jaune Lodge
Tete Jaune Lodge
#1 of 17 in Valemount
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites

Property: Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites
Address: 1495 6th Avenue on Karas Drive, Valemount, British Columbia V0E 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Valemount
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Valemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 70 Unit Hotel is situated between three mountain ranges, East along Highway #5 and South of the Petro Canada. We have Standard 2 Double Bed Smoking/Non-Smoking Suites, Queen 2 Bed Suites, One 2 King Bed Jacuzzi Suite, Family 5 Bed Suites, Superior 4 Bed Suites and Mini Kitchenette 4 Bed Suites. All rooms include free WiFi, a Coffee Pot, Microwave, Clock/Radio and Phone. Small Fridges available upon request. Please come check us out on your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Premier Mountain Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Mountain Hotel
Premier Mountain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing