We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Were we there on an off day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kerstins Chalet

Kerstins Chalet
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerstins Chalet
Ranked #7 of 16 Valemount B&B and Inns
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Were we there on an off day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having read wonderful reviews, I booked for two nights but thought I had arrived at the wrong place or it had changed hands.. On arrival we were not expected due to an error on the owners part (he did apologise the next day) . Have never felt so uncomfortable in a property in many years of travel. His command to take off our shoes was clipped and completely unnecessary., When my husband said he was going to get our cases he was told in no uncertain manner to close the door quickly not to let the mosquitoes in! It was announced that breakfast was at 8 - was that all right in a tone I would not have dared argued with! The room was extremely basic - no nice touches at all - do not appreciate unironed bed linen or a curtain only fit for the bin.
Accommodation was clean - lovely places to sit outwith the room but felt too uncomfortable to use them.
Breakfast was excellent had it been served in a normal manner - not the hot dish of scrambled egg plonked down before having the opportunity to drink juice, eat fruit salad or take cereal if so desired. Plates were whisked away before the last morsel had made it to the mouth.
Sorry to be so harsh but the owner's attitude requires to be modified.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin B, Inhaber at Kerstins Chalet, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear valued guest!
We apologize that your experience in our Bed &Breakfast did not meet your expectations. Our objective is to always provide a high quality hospitality experience, and solve a problem as fast as possible should there be one.
If we have made you feel uncomfortable, it was certainly not intentional and we apologize for this.
We enjoy sharing our home with guests from all over the world, and getting to know them. We feel we are very accommodating to any guest who communicates an issue. However, if we do not know what the issue is, we cannot be expected to solve it. We therefore ask for guests to be open with us, as we would certainly like an opportunity to better someone’s stay.

Kerstin and Herbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

German reliability and solidity combined with Canadian kindness and hospitality is a guarantee for a tremendous B&B!
Staying with Kerstin and Herbert for two nights was one of the many highlights during our trip through British Columbia and Alberta in May and June 2013. The room was comfortable, the house is beautiful in a quiet place, but nevertheless close to Valemount centre. The breakfast was delicious and well taken care of: fresh fruit, coffie, toast, while the egg was a surprise.
Kerstin and Herbert gave us information about Valemount and things to do. They also helped us in finding a doctor, when one was needed.
We look back to our stay in Kerstin's Chalet with great pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke en Koos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ( two couples) stayed at Kerstin's Chalet for a night while driving through the Rockies last week. A great location with a very scenic all round view of the mountains. Make sure you have it on the GPS as it is off the beaten track. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was a good, wholesome continental breakfast. The B&B is run by a couple; the husband is very friendly, hospitable and has a nice sense of humour. The wife could do more to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

That was my rest point between Jasper and Sunpeaks.
Very clean and big room. Shared guest room is lovely and warm.
So quiet at night since the house is located alone in nature.
Fresh and excellent breakfast! Fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese and German Bread!
The location is a little hard to find so should find it in Google in advance.
Thank you, Mrs. Kerstins and Mr.Herbert.
By Cyrus from Toronto. 26 Jun 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyrusZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valemount
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Valemount
Super 8 Valemount
#3 of 7 in Valemount
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Valemount Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Chalet Continental Motel
Chalet Continental Motel
#4 of 7 in Valemount
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Mt. Robson Mountain River Lodge
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Valemount
1.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Resort
Twin Peaks Resort
#2 of 17 in Valemount
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerstins Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerstins Chalet

Property: Kerstins Chalet
Address: 1087 Cranberry Lake Road, Valemount, British Columbia V0E 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Valemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Valemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kerstins Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is close to town in aquiet forest setting. Pur guestrooms providing an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast is a full breakfast european style and partly organic. We providing for our guests an livingroom with TV, they can use our deck with wonderful mountainviews. Wifi is includet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kerstins Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing