We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, small and outdated!!”
Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Best Western? Really? I think they might have stolen the sign from another hotel and put it on the lawn!

The grounds of this hotel are very well maintained. The parking lot is clean. The building itself is fairly well maintained from the outside.

The check-in experience was ok. The staff were friendly. The lobby is VERY dated and small.

There is a restaurant off the main lobby that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The decor and fixtures are ancient!

The rooms are motel style, meaning your car parks in front of your door. The rooms are quite small. The carpets are disgusting! They were blue at one time... there is a distinctive brown trail from the front door, to the bed and to the washroom. There are stains on the carpet as well. NASTY. The washroom is VERY small. You need to be a contortionist in order to use to toilet without ending up sitting on the counter!! The washrooms were clean, but just way too small.

The bedding was clean, but the beds were quite firm. The pillows were very comfortable. The TV is a 27” tube style. It works well. The decor in the rooms are very dated and uncomfortable.
We had 3 meals at this hotel. The breakfast is continental style. The lunch and dinner were reasonably priced and the food was decent. The homemade desserts were fantastic.

As far as restaurants and accommodations go in the area, your choices are VERY limited. That is why this location is busy... it certainly isn’t anything special. The prices are more expensive than a nice new hotel in Downtown Halifax!!

If there were other options in the area, I would suggest looking there before booking your room here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blackriverexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2007

This was an impromptu stay for me and my 12 year old son.A snow storm kept us from driving home after his hockey game in Kingston.The room was clean and comfortable , the man at the front desk welcoming.I can't remember why, but the restaurant was closed for breakfast ,cleaning or something.
{we checked out really early for another game so it didn't affect us}.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We needed to make a 'utility 'stop between Brier Island and Truro so selected the Aurora Inn as we wanted to take our time and follow the 'Glooscap Trail. We were encouraged when we saw the postion of the Aurora Inn. It is set in a park like setting and looks very pretty on the outside.
However, we were very disappointed on being given our room. It was cramped and dingy. The carpet was dirty as were all the air vents for the air con. The walls needed decorating as well. The tiles around the bath etc left a lot to be desired and the bathroom was tiny..
I had to complain about the state of the pillows and the under covers on them which were badly stained. The lady came with clean ones and was very gracious but it should not be necessary to check ( I always do though )
The bed was clean enough but quite hard. Some people do like hard beds though so that is a matter of personal taste.
There was no room to move around in the room and we didn't even stop for breakfast in the morning.
We tried to leave at 6.30am but the reception did not open until 7am.
The restaurant was quite good though. We had a decent meal there in the evening.
This is not a place I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fuerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

The staff at this motel were very welcoming and helpful with information about local attractions. The rooms were clean, with adequate space and good bedding and linens. The attached restaurant had a limited menu but the food was fine and reasonably priced. The grounds are well kept and attractive and the whole operation gives the impression of being well run and maintained with concern for customer satisfaction (unlike some places). I would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Okanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Veel te duur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank diogene52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Fritz_3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
23.5 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
118 reviews
6.8 mi away
No photo provided
Fundy Spray Motel
#2 of 2 in Middleton
11 reviews
24.0 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Middleton Motel and Suites
Middleton Motel and Suites
#2 of 6 in Middleton
24 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bridgetown Motor Inn
Bridgetown Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bridgetown
22 reviews
6.9 mi away
Orchard Queen Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 831 Main Street, Kingston, Nova Scotia B0P 1R0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Aurora Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $127 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Aurora Inn Kingston, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing