We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four nights and I would come again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Four nights and I would come again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The location is great for those taking the ferry. Our challenge was to find a pet free B & B and this was it. From here we wandered North Sydney, ate at the Lobster Pound, drove to Glacé Bay, Englishtown, Louisbourgh and more. Heather was very friendly with lots of advice about things to do and where to eat.

The rooms were clean, the bed was great, the shower had plenty of hot water, and the breakfast was hot, simple, tasty and filling. We were upstairs facing away from the harbour and had a great sleep at this quiet location. We were there by ourselves one night and there was a full house the next. Other than a few doors banging shut in the early morning there was no problem with all rooms being booked.

The house is 150 years old and as such has character.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mari Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Manager at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
It really is amazing how so many people can be in one location and make relatively little noise. It is also nice to be in a location where my visitors can stay central and travel out to various sites from here. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
51
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
449 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the best place to stay in North Sydney. Heather is very organized and went out of her way to make sure we had a comfortable bed per our preferences. She was very helpful in planning our trip on the Cabot Trail. Breakfast was very nice. The room was great, although it could use some place to put luggage except on the floors. The Wifi was a little slow but adequate for email. We met another couple at breakfast and they were staying here before getting on the ferry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share. The folding table is the luggage stand but you have given me an idea and if time permits this year, I think I will see if I can develop some kind of folding rack to add to the little table. I did so much enjoy your visit with me and I hope the rest of your travels were an absolute joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Heather & staff were very accommodating & extremely helpful with directions & places to see.
Room was very clean & comfortable.
Breakfast were very nice!
Stayed 3 nights, would stay gain & recommend to friends!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Manager at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Always nice to have people who stay for a number of days. The trouble is everyone leaves me and I often feel like family is going away. I will look forward to the time we get together again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port aux Basques, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Also, Heather (the owner) is one of the friendliest, most generous people I've met. If you have a day to spare, drive out to the Fortress of Louisbourg. It's a truly memorable place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. This year it looks like things will be busy again but I hope I can continue to find room for travelers who are as nice and fun as yuou. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very hospitable but otherwise nothing much to recommend it. Very hospitable but otherwise nothing much to recommend it. Very hospitable but otherwise nothing much to recommend it. Very hospitable but otherwise nothing much to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryleeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Manager at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. If there are specific needs that were not met or other suggestions to improve guests stay, please let me know. We do our best to meet the basic needs of travelers but always there are alternatives that may make a visit better. Hope you trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were pleased with this choice - very home like and well located. Great for long walks along the harbour and walking distance to large chain stores for any supplies. Our room came with a sofa bed. Though the Inn may feel a bit cramped if every room was occupied - none were when we were there.
We had to leave early for our flight - but were able to use the kitchen and supplies downstairs to rustle up a breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mys_terry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share. It is really surprising how I can have a full house and still seem like there is almost no one here unless the guests gather on one of the porches and have a gabfest (one of my favorite times). One table does get close for breakfast but it all seems like part of the B & B home type atmosphere that many find enjoyable. I hope I may have the chance to offer you the full breakfast at a future time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything went smoothly - from taking the reservation to guiding me to the B&B after I got lost

Room was clean, comfie and ample size. Private bath was clean and spacious.

Neighborhood was quiet at night - slept soundly - was even able to catch part of a NFL preseason game on ESPN (in North Sydney of all places).

Breakfast the next morning was delish - with real scrambled eggs and tasty sausages, toast, yoghurt and plenty of condiments.

Excellent establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I do encourage all my guests to keep my toll free # 1-888-606-3001 with them so I can be of assistance at any time they are trying to find the place, need to alter arrival time or need information. So glad I was able to help you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
6.6 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
24.3 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
5.7 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 123 Pierce St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1P4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbourfront is a couple of blocks from the ferry to Newfoundland and across the street from the bus terminal. For travelers touring Cape Breton: we are approx 45 minutes from the start of the Cabot Trail. We are near the city of Sydney with all its entertainment events and casino, about 45 minutes from Glace Bay's Savoy Theatre and Miners Museum, the Fortress of Louisburg and East Bay the home of Rita MacNeil’s Tea Room. Also not too far from the many golf courses and festivals that are part of the summer events in Cape Breton. North Sydney offers free entertainment at the wharf in the summer season. New North Sydney Arena and new Culture and Heritage Centre will add to the pleasure of those visiting the area along with the Sports Museum and Fossil Centre, nearby in Sydney Mines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Harbourfront Hotel North Sydney
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing