We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My girlfriend and I (from Montreal) were touring Nova Scotia and our itinerary brought us to the North Sydney area for one day so we scanned the internet for lodging and found this B&B. We stayed one night and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We spoke to Cheryl ahead of time and she had no problem with our late arrival. Her cute B&B is very close to town which was convenient for buying items we needed for the next day. The house is warmly decorated and immaculate. Our room was bright and cheery and even had a small balcony and private bathroom. The next morning, to our pleasant surprise, Cheryl had laid out a full breakfast buffet just for the two of us! There were homemade cakes, scones, boiled eggs, toast, cereal, fresh fruit.... the works! And we got to eat it all in the breakfast alcove with antique place settings. As well as enjoying this beautiful old house, we appreciated Cheryl's interest and help in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pt-laval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

I am frequently travelling around the maritime provinces, so when I rate this B&B, you can be assured that I have stayed in my share or Hotels and B&B's over the past few years.
I don't know about you, but as a traveller the first thing I look for when staying in a B&B is the cleanleness, and this B&B is above and beyond my expectatations! When you get in your neatly pressed sheets and bedding you can smell the freshness, of being hung on the clothesline! The bathrooms were spotless and the breakfast was amazing!
It is so close to the Newfoundland Ferry and all other amenities. I have stayed in two other B&B's in North Sydney and nothing compares to this one!
You wont find a more pleasant Inn Keeper and a more charming place to stay in all of Cape Breton. It really feels like a "Home away from home!"

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritimetraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed in several Inns and B&Bs in Nova Scotia in August, 2009. Chambers Guest House was certainly one of the best. It was clean, quiet, well appointed, and above all, friendly and charming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

This is an amazing place!!!! We have stayed at Chambers guest house many times and every time we get the same great service and can expect the same great hospitality. The owner is so accomidating and keeps up such a clean well maintained B&B we stay every year. It is so close to the Newfoundland Ferry and walking distance to the mall and the waterfront. This place meets every need, especially for a travelling family like ours. You couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelling_family44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Very helpful Hostess, great location if you are taking the Newfoundland Ferry, superb breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyNwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Cheryl Chambers is a very creative lady, who has decorated her magnificant B&B with many touches of eloquence, many of which she has made herself. Our room had a sunroom, private deck (large) and a private ensuite. The price had us expecting much less. What a great deal!! The room was huge!! we saw the other rooms and would have been happy in any of them. Cheryl's decorating skills are extrodinary and delightful. Cheryl herself is a warm and interesting person, who for breakfast provides a wide array of baked goods my husband devoured and enjoyed. She also served fruit and boiled eggs. There is a huge porch on the main level overlooking garden.

We highly recommend this B&B...so if you are either on your way to Newfoundland or about to embark on the cabot trail....stay her first. You won't regret a minute of it!!

Oh the garden...strolll through the garden, look at the water feature!! Check out my pictures! Diane & Glen

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bluenosebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We have visited Chamber's Guest House in both the summer of 2005 and 2006. It is a charming Victorian home with a beautiful country garden. With a selction of fruit salad, eggs, pancakes, and more sweet breads than I can recall we were well satisfied to continue exploring Cape Breton.

A wonderful stay at a convenient location if travelling through to or from Newfoundland at a great price. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanthin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.4 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 64 King St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range: $79 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sydney B&B, tastefully decorated with antiques and art work on a tree-lined lot, 3 minutes from the Newfoundland Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamber's Guest House Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing