We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Chery is a charming host and her breakfasts were out of this world. Our room was huge and filled with period pieces. Excellent sleep and very quiet. The whole house was beautifully decorated. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DontStopExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
71
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Cheryl is a great host and excellent cook (love the homemade jam)! What can we say? Best night of sleep the entire trip to Nova Scotia. Felt very comfortable in a large and spacious space upstairs. The entire house is charming and beautiful. You can feel that care has been taken for everything inside and outside the house as well. Amazing garden space adds to the experience and we appreciated that even though we barely had time to use it. Next time, we would love to stay a few days longer.

Doing the Cabot Trail counter-clockwise? Stay here, period.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QCVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cheryl is a gracious host! She welcomed us upon arrival with fresh strawberries and yogurt, ice for cold drinks and the offer of coffee, tea or herbal teas. Her attention to giving her guests a great experience really makes her B&B special.
We stayed in two different rooms during our three days, both with ensuite bathrooms. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and inviting. The beds were comfortable. The full breakfast was beautifully served and excellent; eggs cooked to order, fruit, yogurt, delicious baked goods, home made preserves and maple syrup. Both inside and out, the B&B is colorfully and skillfully decorated, the gardens are lovely, the antiques inside are delightful. The location is also good...near supermarkets, waterfront, the Newfoundland Ferry.
We've recommended this B&B to our friends and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed with Cheryl for two days, went to Newfoundland and returned for another day. We stayed in Room 3 which has its own bathroom, a balcony room and a veranda. Just perfect - the best nights sleep on our two week trip. Breakfast offers a whole range of hot and cold foods and everything was very good. Cheryl is a wonderful hostess; her home is beautiful and the gardens are a sight to behold. We unhesitatingly recommend this bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 3 is super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent three nights here while traveling with friends. Cheryl and her lovely mom are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is wonderful...the only improvement in breakfast would be fresh fruit compote. We were in one room for two nights and then had to switch to a different room for the third night because our original room was already booked. The second room was awesome and would be great for a family. It's large, has a single bed in addition to a queen and has a sun porch with another bed. Cheryl is a font of knowledge about the area not only for tourist related issues but, as it turns out, for a car related issue. She sent us to "Ralph" for a small car problem. He was great and fixed the car quickly so we could be on our way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jclperipatetic47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morin Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Chamber's Guest House on our way in to Newfoundland. This B&B, located in North Sydney, is at a walking distance of the ferry to Port-aux-Basques.

We weren't expecting too much because this was not our main destination. But what a Pleasant Surprise!

When we arrived, Cheryl had set up the balcony area adjoining our room so we could enjoy a relaxing moment after a long day drive. Arriving at the restaurant for dinner later than expected, we were informed by the owner that she had phoned ahead to make sure they would wait for us.

The next morning, after a good night sleep, we were amazed by the quality of her breakfast. Everything you can imagine in a B&B was sitting on the table.

Makes you want to stay in Nova Scotia and forget about the crossing.

Lise & Jacques, Morin-Heights, Qc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JacquesDesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Harbour, NL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have had the privelege of staying in this B&B many times over the last 12 years and have always experienced a warm reception from Cheryl and enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay. We have recommended Chambers House to many friends and family and they all have received the same wonderful reception. Cheryl has created a feast for the eye's with her beautiful use of color and the stunning antiques that fill this home from top to bottom. Her breakfasts are the best that we have ever had in any B&B and we have stayed in many throughout North America and the UK, fresh baked goods, homemade preserves, delicious eggs all served on beautiful fine china, something you don't experience every day. Also A1 comfortable beds!
Thanks again Cheryl
Russ & Mary-Jo Meade Rocky Harbour NL

Room Tip: We have stayed in all of the rooms and prefer the 2 ensuite rooms 3&4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilynstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.4 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
25.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 64 King St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sydney B&B, tastefully decorated with antiques and art work on a tree-lined lot, 3 minutes from the Newfoundland Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamber's Guest House Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing