We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”
Review of A Boat to Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Boat to Sea
Ranked #3 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Pointe Aux Piments
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Why? It is the best B&B if you will be taking the Newfoundland Ferry as many guests were doing during our stay. Jane is a warm and welcoming hostess with the support of her beautiful dog, April.
We stayed 3 nights and every morning were greeted with a different breakfast. Complete with fruit, juice, yogurt, delicious coffee or tea and a delicious main course. We met people from all over which made our breakfast conversations very interesting. The location is ideal as it is centrally located to everything in this region such as Louisbourg Fortress, Baddeck, Cabot Trail, city of Sydney, and many beautiful beaches close by. The lovely gardens and the water view were a peaceful haven for us after a long day of exploring. We would highly recommend this location to everyone. Hans V & Cynthia H

Room Tip: The Captain's Room was nicely decorated and on the first floor which made it an easy access to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HANS V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a lovely stay, a lovely view, and a wonderful hostess!
I was attending a wedding on the grounds, and it couldn't have been more perfect! A cool breeze off of the ocean made it a comfortable and bug free outdoor wedding!
Had an amazing stay and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meech B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay.Beautiful property.Jane was the perfect hostess .Breakfast was amazing.Rooms were very clean and bed comfortable .The day we got there it as a bit cool,when we got back from dinner the fireplace was on and Jane was waiting for us to invite us in the living room to warm up by the fire A lot a plces to sit outside and enjoy the water view.Next time we will take the captain's room,has private washroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silva1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very relaxing B&B right on the water. Close to Newfoundland ferry. Lovely gardens which Jane makes you feel comfortable to explore. Also near the Cabot Trail. Jane has been living here for over 30 years and can recommend restaurants and places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslarocque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Be ready to enjoy a great location with an amazing back yard that never seems to end. Jane was such a wonderful hostess and we enjoyed our morning chats at breakfast. Jane is very relaxed and allows her guests to freely explore the back yard, dock, and boat house. Evenings spent staring out at the water on the dock or on the deck of the boat house with a bottle of wine were just perfect. The upstairs bedroom had plenty of room for the four of us, and our son enjoyed entertaining Jane and the other guests with some fiddle playing at breakfast. If you want to see Sydney and the Cabot trail, this is the B&B to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I tried to review this B&B last summer, soon after we stayed there, but it wasn't yet available on Trip Advisor. Glad to see now that others have enjoyed it as much as we did - very gracious hostess, lovely setting, comfortable beds, great breakfasts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanvandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This new B and B is incredible. lovely hostess, beautifully restored old home with incredible stained glass, art work and collectibles, and stunning landscaping on a triple lot that overlooks the water. Lots of places to sit and relax outside. very comfortable inside as well. Lots of fresh fruit at breakfast. a wonderful place to escape for a few days or a base for day trips around Cape Breton. When we left after only 2 nights, we left as though we were leaving a friend. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: we had the west wing and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momg557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
1.2 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
5.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
5.7 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#2 of 4 in North Sydney
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Boat to Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Boat to Sea

Property: A Boat to Sea
Address: 61 Queen St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Boat to Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your A Boat to Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Boat To Sea North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing