We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage Home is excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heritage Home is excellent!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The owner Joanna is a wonderful and helpful host in this charming heritage house. We absolutely loved our stay here and the breakfast was heavenly. The almond french toast was thick, moist, and incredibly flavourful. Not even in Quebec have I had a french toast this unique! The home is charming and offers a very comfortable feel. A true B&B, do not hesitate to stay here if visiting Cape Breton Highlands National Park/Cabot Trail. You will not be disappointed. Why can't all B&B owners be like her?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    22
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
75
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We did not make reservations but found an opening at this great place! We felt very welcomed and the room was lovely. Had to take photos of the breakfast as it made all other places look pale by comparison. This is a gem and a treat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family and i had the pleasure of staying at this vintage bed and breakfast.. The view was spectacular and our accommadations were just as awesome. The family suite was perfect for us. spacious yet cozy and very clean. Beautifully decorated with antiques...
Breakfast was filling and coffee was delicious. A true cape breton charm with the house and hostess..
With all of these great reviews no wonder this is the nicest place to stay in north sydney.
A little slice of heaven..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salamandretigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

When we arrived , the owner, Juanna, warmly greeted us as we were getting out of our car, made sure we were comfortable, suggested a place for dinner and called for us to reserve.
Our room was cosy, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast in the morning turned out to be more than anything one could have expected: fresh fruits and yogurt, homemade pankakes, bread pudding, to die for "cheesy thing" she so called. Along with all exepected cereal, coffee, the, bread and juice. Great stay, a must when visiting Cape Breton.
Michele and Marc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The place was cold everywhere. Had to put an electric heater in the bedroom to get some warmth. No TV. Breakfast, if you can call it that, was a half bowl of fruit with yogurt ( if wanted),
small dish of microwaved bread pudding, 1 hard boiled egg, My partner had to ask for an egg.
Had to make our own toast, ran out of (limited already) coffee. Never will stay here again.

Grant & Joan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We loved the location, tour close enought to everything in the villlage that you can walk, so you don't have to take your car .We had a great sleep, the bed was great and so was the fresh air from the open window.Dick is very helpful with advice on things to see and do. Breakfast was a treat, Liz certainly knows her way around the kitchen.Overall it was a great stay, would make a great base for day trips.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Heritage Home B+B before heading to Newfoundland in 2011. Right from the start I was impressed by this wonderful vintage home. From the outside you feel as if you are walking into a museum. As you make your way through the front door you are greeted by Juana who is a true delight. Not only is she pleasant to talk to but she makes a serious breakfast. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well decorated. I really enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the morning with my tea and watching the sea. Thanks for a great stay and I will be sure to return.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EarthGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.8 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
5.4 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.4 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 110 Queen St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Home Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing