We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Friendly Service & Good Value”

Roadside Willies Smokehouse & Bar
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Independently owned and operated, Roadside Willies offers its valued patrons casual dining with a touch of class. Whether stopping by to unwind with your favorite beverage, or savoring a full course meal with family and friends, Roadside Willies offers up something for everyone. Our extensive menu features tastes from around the world. Enjoy incredible salads, appetizers, sandwiches, seafood, smokehouse favorites, pastas, gourmet pizza, desserts and more. We smoke our ribs and chicken in-house, over real hickory wood. Willie's philosophy is simple. Dining out should be an enjoyable and unrushed experience, in a cozy and intimate setting. Candle lit tables, a warm décor, tasteful music and friendly people create an inviting yet casual ambiance at Roadside Willies. Great people. Great atmosphere. Great food. Period. See you soon!
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Friendly Service & Good Value”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This "off the beaten path" restaurant is a wonderful contradiction. It's tucked away off the main road in a bit of an industrial area and attached to a dome-shaped bowling alley. The outside certainly is nothing to look at but, once you step inside, you are left a bit speechless because your expectations have been foiled completely! Wonderfully cozy and somewhat quirky with the deep red walls and a baby grand piano. The fish & chips are by far the best we have ever had. You can get a half pound whole fillet for only $10 and it's fresh, fresh, fresh with a light and crisp batter. Hubby had the soup and sandwich for lunch for only $6. The soup was homemade too and absolutely delicious. We won't be waiting so long to return this time. The food is not made until ordered so expect to wait during busy times. Congratulations to the staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    73
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best in the Truro area”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been to Roadside Willies many times and it has never disappointed us. There is variety on the menu, so something for everyone. The atmosphere is friendly, staff are attentive and come back to ensure you are enjoying your meal. On the night we were there this week they had wings on sale for $4.95 an order. Three of us ordered these and they were delicious. The fries were crispy, hot and in a generous proportion. The deep fried haddock is the best thing on the menu in my opinion, The fillet is large and comes with your choice of potato and coleslaw.
The restaurant is attached to the local bowling alley, however you would never guess this when you come in the front door. We bring all of our out of town guests here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“poor service. cold food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went to Roadside willies. very dissapointed. Service was horrible. our food was brought out one plate at a time 5 minutes to 10 minutes apart. The food was not cooked right. Ribs were tough and cold in the middle. We were over charged on our bill twice. Gave up on it being fixed so just didn't tip instead. It was not that busy and there were at least 5 waitresses. Our drink order took 20 minutes to come. It was rediculous. I wanted to walk out but tried to enjoy the poor food and service and paid anyway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharalee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Featuring a great smokehouse”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit- food was excellent and the service was very good.I liked the seating and the atmosphere was very cordial.This is a restaurant you could expect to find in a much larger city- I'm very happy to find it in Truro.I recommend the smoked sausages.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is one of my favourite places to eat in Truro. The food is great, prices are fair, and service is quick. The atmosphere of the restaurant is nice too, and there are various options for seating. I've never had a meal here that I didn't like :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside Willies Smokehouse & Bar also viewed

 
Truro, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Roadside Willies Smokehouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing