We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meals and large menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chow Family Restaurant

Chow Family Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 98 Restaurants in Truro
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meals and large menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Food is served in large quantities and is tasty and well presented. The staff are friendly and courteous/

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    23
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
560 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“It was like any other average Chinese Resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

It was no better or no worse than any other run of the mill Chinese resturant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“maybe they were having a bad day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stopped in for a late lunch. We were seated right away and the restaurant was mostly empty since it was early to mid afternoon. The waitress kept chatting with a friend and eventually waited on us. The food was edible but had no flavor and the rice was hard. Then the original waitress left but kindly let us know that another would take over. My water glass was empty so I waved at the other waitress who was cleaning a table. She nodded at me but kept on cleaning the table. A few minutes later, I took my glass to the bar to ask for water and so it went. They must have been having a bad day because I can't imagine any restaurant staying open with this kind of food and service consistently.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro NS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't like new menu coices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

They changed the lunch Specials and removed my favourite ribs and veggies.
With agroup and found it too dark to see clearly and service was slow getting non-alcoholic drinks

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is nice, a larger open room, or you can choose a smaller room with Polynesian decor. There are combination plates to order, dinners for 2, 3, 4, 5, etc...or you can order plates of each food and share. Chow family rice is especially good...it has all your favorites in the rice (garlic pork, chicken, egg, mushrooms, etc). Our favorite and must have is Woo Hip Har, a delight of shrimp deep fried and wrapped in bacon with a crab sauce. Definitely worth a trip and the money. Mid price range, but nice sit down dinner.

Helpful?
Thank JaneAnneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Truro, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Chow Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing