We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangri-la Cottages
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Marvelous surprise”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We reserved Shangri La for the location and desire to see the tidal changes. Despite the good reviews, really did not expect much. We were very wrong. The cottages are like new, very well furnished and nicely decorated (lovely bed linens), quite comfortable and immaculately clean. There are no restaurants nearby so bring groceries and take advantage of the very well-equipped kitchen. The Shangri La setting is glorious with a large lawn sloping slightly to the cliff edge overlooking the bay and a short walk to the lighthouse museum and steps down to the ocean floor at low tide. Videos and exhibits at the museum are interesting and informative.Cottage owners and museum staff delightful. Seeing a tide cycle is a phenomenal experience - and Shangri La cottages are the perfect ( a word we rarely use) place for it.

Room Tip: We had the wheelchair accessible cottage - 1 large bedroom and huge bathroom. More than adequate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A peaceful quiet place with a great view of the sea. Our kids romped on the lawn while we watched the ocean, then the stars. The places are very clean and modern.

There is easy access to the Bay itself, and 20 minutes down the road there's a nice glass studio where the kids can make their own fused glass creations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raincoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our second visit, but everything still looks brand new. New owners are continuing great hospitality and fine cabins. it was too warm to use heated tile floors, but there is an outdoor fire pit. Spectacular view from the front porch of the biggest tides in the world, especially near a full moon. Just a sort walk to Burncoat Head Lighthouse & stairs to the floor of the Bay. The mud is like red glue, so bring rubber shoes to wash off after.
This was the nicest cottage of our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage that sits by itself to avoid noisy neighbors til 2 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Shangi-la Cottages because they are right next door to Burncoat Head park, a great place to witness the Bay of Fundy's amazing high/low tides. We expected rinky-dink but got something very nice. Our cottage was clean, thoughtfully furnished and very comfortable. The innkeeper was very nice and hospitable. This place is in the middle of nowhere (not a bad thing) so bring meal supplies. There are no grocery stores or restaurants nearby and you will NOT want to leave this beautiful place to run around looking for food. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking utinsils so you will not lack in that area.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage #1 and loved it. All of them have beautiful views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have spent the last 7 months traveling around the province of Nova Scotia working with 2 of my colleagues and we have stayed in a different hotel/motel/cottage almost every week of the journey. I can say without a doubt that the Shangri-La Cottages are about as good as it gets, it feels like home because everything you have at home is there for you to use. The website says "just bring you food" and they are not kidding, it's all there right down to the cheese grater and corn cob holders. In fact I’m pretty sure that if you forgot your food that owner/operator Bill Bright would send you down some of his. By far the cleanest and well maintained cottages I have stayed in during the summer of 2010.

As for the owner/operator Bill, my hats off to you sir for running a great business and having the best hospitality and attitude towards your customers unlike any I have ever seen.

This is one place out of a hundred I will return to with my family for a weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nauticalnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My family of 6 recently stayed at Shangri-La Cottages at the end of August 2010, and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. The owner were great, warm and friendly, and looking out for our needs. The grounds are breath-taking and the cabins are beautiful and clean. The availability of the washing machine and dryer was a big big plus as hiking on the beach tends to leave you with mud on your clothes. The hike down to shore at low tide was a just a few minutes walk from our front door. This was the highlight of our trip for our kids aged 7-13. They loved walking among the tide-pools collecting crabs and snails. The scenery was amazing. The cabin had 2 bedrooms and the living room had a sofa that opened into a bed. There was a beautiful full kitchen and tub/shower in the bathroom. Overall it was an amazing experience, we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This place is gorgeous and the cottage was the best-kept, most comfortable and clean I have ever stayed in. For a vacation cottage, it was truly luxurious.

While Shangri-La Cottages is listed on Trip Advisor as being in Truro, it is actually in Noel, around 30 miles from the town of Truro, over rural roads. My daughter and I stayed there one night, and would have enjoyed a second day; more than that would have been too much for us, because we would have run out of things to do. (This might not be true for everyone!) We had great weather; in the rain, it could be dull.

We watched the most beautiful sunset we've ever seen from the porch of the cottage, and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. We will truly never forget the very peaceful and pleasant day we spent there, and the beauty of our surroundings. I'd definitely return, and I highly recommend it.

Also - great place for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uppitycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
25.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
324 reviews
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Tidal Bore Inn
Tidal Bore Inn
#6 of 8 in Truro
83 reviews
24.9 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
284 reviews
25.1 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Cottages

Property: Shangri-la Cottages
Address: 619 Burncoat Road | RR 1, Truro, Nova Scotia B0N 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Cottages Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing