We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Diner with Very Good Food”

Fletcher's Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: Fletcher's has been in operation in Truro since 1947. We recently renovated the dining room, diner and restrooms to have a fresh new look for our customers. We offer good home cooked meals and desserts at reasonable prices.
Restaurant details
Description: Fletcher's has been in operation in Truro since 1947. We recently renovated the dining room, diner and restrooms to have a fresh new look for our customers. We offer good home cooked meals and desserts at reasonable prices.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Homey Diner with Very Good Food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a place frequented by locals; I think we were the only tourists the night we ate there. They serve a variety of fresh fish and other dishes; the seafood chowder was delicious and so large that three of us split a bowl as an appetizer. The fried clams were excellent too and the home-made pie very good. Friendly staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant next door to Rainbow Motel”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good selection of home-style meals reasonably priced and pleasantly served. This is a nice restaurant for families or couples and the staff are great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good 'ol home cooking'!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I enjoyed the "no-fuss" ford at Fletcher's. The service is excellent (Thanks again Dolly) and the price is right. This is Truro institution and my husband and friends and I frequent this great dinner restaurant. If you are looking for quality food without anything fancy this is your place. Plus the price is right.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sadie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Inexpensive diner”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Had the pan fried haddock dinner. It came with fries, carrots and a roll. The fish was great, the fries were fine but they could have been hotter, the carrots were so hard they "crunched" when I bit into one. The roll was one of those cheap, cold nasty salad rolls. My husband had the big burger and it was overloaded with garlic. He didn't care for the seasoning as it overpowered the burger.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSNeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't be mislead by the humble appearance :)”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is like stepping back in time. It is an old fashioned diner which is authentic. It is clean and the food is great...especially breakfast. You cannot beat the prices and the charm. Don't go here if you are looking for fancy, but it is clean and a great experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IloveCuba1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fletcher's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fletcher's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing