We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
Review of Willow Bend Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willow Bend Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stopped over in Truro on business and stayed as my normal hotel was booked. I was very impressed with the service right from the beginning. However I wasn't expecting rooms that were on the upper end of any hotel/motel in all of Atlantic Canada. They had one room left above the resturant and it is one of the best hotel rooms I have ever seen. Two bedrooms, full kitchen, living room and amazing bathroom. This is more than one person would ever need however what a great room for travelling couples or families. They also have two room suites that someone at breakfast indicated were also very impressive!!!

Fully wi-fi equipped (and free) and access to a computer in the resturant if required.

Very nice breakfast was included with the room. While pool area was not yet openned for the season it looked very nice and family oriented.

The hotel is very will looked after and maintained sometimes a rare thing for a drive up motel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buiness10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    75
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
107
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Having been let down by pre-arranged alternative accommodation we headed for Truro and came across Willow Bend Motel - we booked for a night and ended up staying for a week !!!

We found all the staff very helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were perfectly adequate and clean and the buffet breakfast excellent !!! Really good value for money and nicely located for access to downtown Truro and major road links.

Would not hesitate to book again at a future date.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fotofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This is without a doubt, one of the nicer motels we stayed in on our trip down East. We upgraded our room because we had such a bad experience in our previous motel, we decided to treat ourselves. The extra $30 was money well spent! We had 2 amazing queen sized beds, beautifully decorated, with a TV in the sleeping area, large TV in the sitting area, WiFi, kitchenette. They even had DVDs to watch! The bathroom was a tad bit small, but very clean! We loved the pool and hot tub. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was one of the best we had!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank passionfortravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My parents (70+) and I were visiting my 99yo grandmother in an assisted living facility and needed to stay somewhere close by. I have visited Truro several times for family visits but have typically stayed with family. For our last visit two years ago, we stayed at the Belgravia (Fabulous B&B) but it was not available on the days we needed.
I noted that the Willow Bend was highly recommended and decided to give it a try. I made the reservation by phone with a very friendly Janet who immediately told me all the standard rooms were booked and they only had suites left. When I explained the reason for our trip and that my parents were seniors, we immediately got a discount to $129/night.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating during our stay. We didn't have our own transportation and arrived via bus the day before our reservation. The bus station for Acadian Bus lines is right across the street so we asked if we could drop off our luggage early the following day since we would have to checkout of our other hotel (Comfort Inn - not great). The lady at the front desk said no problem, we could leave the luggage in the lobby. In addition, she said she would ask for the room to be prioritized after the current guests checked out so we could be in there ASAP.

The next day, we stopped by at 11:30, and they told us the previous guests had checked out, the room was not yet cleaned but we could put our luggage in there. We basically checked in - giving credit card info and getting our keys, and left our luggage in the suite. We saw the cleaning staff as we were leaving and told her the situation and she was very accomodating. When we returned at 3:30pm, the room was perfect and our luggage right where we left it.
The suite is very similar to the photos on their web site. A kitchenette with two burner stovetop, sink, cutlery, glasses, plates, microwave, and mini-fridge. The two double beds were separated from the TV room by sliding doors and the bath included a jetted tub!!!
We had no problems in the suite and the breakfast was very good for a continental offering: scones, bread/toast, jams, waffles, yogurt, cereals, bananas, tea, coffee, apple/orange juice.
A very good experience for our price paid! We'll readily stay there again on any future visits.

  • Liked — The jetted tub
  • Disliked — Room had a musty smell but gone with AC left on Fan/Auto
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CanJam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We spend 4 weeks on the road, traveling from Ontario thru New England to New Glascow and back so we stayed in many, many motels. The Willow Bend stands out as very clean, great pool/hot tub and one of only two places that had an iron/ironing board in the room. A little pricy (for us) but when you consider that includes a FANTASTIC Continental breakfast, this motel can't be beat!

  • Liked — Clean, lots of extras
  • Disliked — A bit pricy.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

During our stay at the willowbend motel was fortunately short.
I found it on the expensive side for what we recieved. The front desk staff I didn't find helpful. The best way I could describe him was barely civil.
The rooms we small, dull decor and musty smelling. The room was very cold and I tried calling the front desk for additional blankets. However no one answered the phone. I went to the office, as it was a short walk and there was no one in the office. It was like there was a mass evacuation, I returned back to our cold room without extra blankets.
As for housekeeping [the next morning] I found they start cleaning out rooms extremely early. They go crashing and banging their carts, vacuums and talk as if they are speaking into a bull horn. Their conversations aren't private and I think blaring personal information for everyone to hear is unacceptable. I sure didn't want to hear their conversations, it was impossible to not hear, as there were no ear plugs in the room.
As for food on site there wasn't any... we would have asked the office but they yet again weren't anywhere to be found. I would have inquired to the housekeeping staff but didn't care to have the answerd "screamed" out at me.
This is the ideal place if you are hard of hearing and have a high tolerance level for unprofessionalism.

  • Liked — Leaving was the highlight of the visit
  • Disliked — Service, cleaniness, lack accessible linens, bugs on floor, musty odor, dull decor, yelling staff, take their money and hide mantality
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at Willow Bend during a 9 night stay in Nova Scotia. We couldn't fault the Motel at all, it was very clean and well equipped, we stayed in one of the suites which suited our needs perfectly it meant that we could put the children to bed then close the sliding doors and sleep on the sofa bed in the lounge area.
The position of the Motel was very central to Truro and all of the amenities the only slight downside was the factory behind the Motel, but it wasn't noisey at all so it didn't hinder our stay at all. The pool and the hot tub were great for the children after a long day of sight seeing.
The staff that worked there were superb they really couldn't do enough for us, they even allowed us to do laundry and they supplied unlimited towels for the pool and also towels and bedding, they really were fab. The continental breafasts which were included in the price were excellent with a great variety of bread, bagels, yoghurts, cereals and fresh fruit along with the usual tea's and coffee.
We really would highly recommend the Willow Bend to anyone looking for great value and a friendly service.

  • Liked — Friendly service and great location
  • Disliked — The factory behind the accomadation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarenceClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berry's Motel
Berry's Motel
#7 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Bend Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Bend Motel

Property: Willow Bend Motel
Address: 277 Willow St | Highway 102, Exit 13, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willow Bend Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Willow Bend Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Bend Hotel
Willow Bend Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing