We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the service? Overpriced for what you get!”
Review of Willow Bend Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Willow Bend Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2008

During our stay at the willowbend motel was fortunately short.
I found it on the expensive side for what we recieved. The front desk staff I didn't find helpful. The best way I could describe him was barely civil.
The rooms we small, dull decor and musty smelling. The room was very cold and I tried calling the front desk for additional blankets. However no one answered the phone. I went to the office, as it was a short walk and there was no one in the office. It was like there was a mass evacuation, I returned back to our cold room without extra blankets.
As for housekeeping [the next morning] I found they start cleaning out rooms extremely early. They go crashing and banging their carts, vacuums and talk as if they are speaking into a bull horn. Their conversations aren't private and I think blaring personal information for everyone to hear is unacceptable. I sure didn't want to hear their conversations, it was impossible to not hear, as there were no ear plugs in the room.
As for food on site there wasn't any... we would have asked the office but they yet again weren't anywhere to be found. I would have inquired to the housekeeping staff but didn't care to have the answerd "screamed" out at me.
This is the ideal place if you are hard of hearing and have a high tolerance level for unprofessionalism.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cheral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 319 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at Willow Bend during a 9 night stay in Nova Scotia. We couldn't fault the Motel at all, it was very clean and well equipped, we stayed in one of the suites which suited our needs perfectly it meant that we could put the children to bed then close the sliding doors and sleep on the sofa bed in the lounge area.
The position of the Motel was very central to Truro and all of the amenities the only slight downside was the factory behind the Motel, but it wasn't noisey at all so it didn't hinder our stay at all. The pool and the hot tub were great for the children after a long day of sight seeing.
The staff that worked there were superb they really couldn't do enough for us, they even allowed us to do laundry and they supplied unlimited towels for the pool and also towels and bedding, they really were fab. The continental breafasts which were included in the price were excellent with a great variety of bread, bagels, yoghurts, cereals and fresh fruit along with the usual tea's and coffee.
We really would highly recommend the Willow Bend to anyone looking for great value and a friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ClarenceClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Very comfortable beds. The rooms were clean and spacious. Great continental breakfast. Stayed there with a hockey team, good option for this, the hotel provided us with a hospitality room. Good value in truro.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank NITSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

The accommodation here is way above the usual motel standard. We had a very comfortable and well furnished suite for a very fair price and had an excellent stay. Large, well maintained outdoor pool and hot tub and the complimentary breakfast just couldn't be faulted. Our second stay in two years and a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

This is a good quality motel with excellent value for money. We drove in the Maritimes and Québec for two weeks with my girl friend and just happened to find this motel on our way past Truro. The staff at the reception were friendly, the room was good quality and clean. The continental breakfast was the best we had during our vacation. The only little minus was the environment surrounding the hotel, there is a factory for example near the motel. But that didn't bother us at all, and the motel property is pleasant. All in all we certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mikke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michele_Bordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnTruro, Owner at Willow Bend Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jocelyne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnTruro, Owner at Willow Bend Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
128 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Bend Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Bend Motel

Address: 277 Willow St | Highway 102, Exit 13, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $83 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willow Bend Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Willow Bend Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Bend Hotel
Willow Bend Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing