We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston
2 reviews
“Everything was fantastic!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights while spending our anniversary in Truro. Maarten and Nelly were very welcoming, and were quick to recommend us places to see/restaurants/etc. We spent time in the hot tub on the first night, and Maarten was very helpful getting us started.

Breakfast on both mornings was amazing, with fresh fruit and homemade baked goods. Nelly and Maarten joined us for conversation in the mornings, and made us feel very much at home.

I would absolutely recommend staying at Baker's Chest to anyone stopping in Truro, and would definitely stay again if we were in the area,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
153
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Baker's Chest on the last day of our trip to the Maritimes and were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. Maarten and Nellie were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and spotless. Their home boasts a gorgeous garden and patio area. Perfect for relaxing. Breakfast featured homemade dutch breads (very tasty) and a fruit crepe. Our hosts joined us and we had a great conversation during breakfast before heading out. I would definitely stay at this B&B again.

Room Tip: Very central and a good distance to the Halifax airport. And lots to see in Truro and the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked here on our way from the Halifax airport to the North and have found a very nice house with a beautiful garden, very nice Dutch hosts, very clean and big room with a big bed. The breakfast was outstanding. You get home made cake and different fruit-bread with a special cooked egg/omelette. We had a very friendly conversation and would like to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icepilot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely, bright room with skylights. The Dutch couple who own this B&B are delightful and supply a delicious, healthy breakfast with wonderful home-baked breads and biscuits. They have four beautifully furnished rooms on the second floor.

Room Tip: There is a pool but it was too cool to try it in September. The grounds are beautifully kept with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely large room and bathroom , huge kingsize bed!!!!! Very small TV and in a corner. Very nice couple, with good info and time to spend with their guests. Breakfast egg dish disappointing,
Accommodation quite a bit outside Truro. Went to Victoria Park, worth seeing the trails to the waterfalls., got to be fit..... Went to Maitland Bridge to watch the Bore, a waste of time, if the tides are not really, really high

Room Tip: Get the kingsize room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay in the very clean and comfortable property. Hosts were friendly, warm and welcoming. Breakfast delicious and morning coffee excellent. I guess the only negative was that we were surprised when paying our bill, that a request for a Tip appeared on the credit card machine. In all our many years of staying in B&B's, we have never been faced with this before, and it sort of threw us for a loop. We felt a little pressured to then add on a Tip as our Host was beside us when we made the transaction. However, as far as the amenities, host and hostess:. breakfast:, cleanliness etc. we would have to say well above average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalomalechim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadamaarten, Owner at Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay at our B&B. We are surprised that you felt pressured into leaving a tip. As you know our credit card machine is set up in our restaurant and therefore a tip option is included in the payment process. We always mention to our B&B guests that this can be by-passed and we definetely do not encourage our B&B guests to leave a tip.
Hopefully this will explain our situation and we are sorry that this might have given you a negative feeling about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed only for 1 night and wished we stayed longer. Nelly and Maarten were excellent host, warm, welcoming and knowledgeable about the region. The breakfast was wonderful - great good, and relaxing. It felt more like home than at a B&B. This was our first night in Nova Scotia and it was a great start to our 10 day holiday. We now use Nelly and Maarten as the standard for excellent B&Bs. Will definitely stayed there again and will highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yingingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
4.2 mi away
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B

Property: Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Address: 53 Farnham Rd, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 2X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker's Chest Tearoom And B&B Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing