We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2008

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights in May on a whirlwind tour of Nova Scotia. Absolutely loved the place. Breakfast was outstanding - we don't like grapefruit, but we loved it the way Nel served it! The house was utterly spotless and our room was charming and well appointed. This was our first experience of a B&B and it certainly sets the standard - we felt welcomed into a home and genuinely loved the chatter over the breakfast table with our hosts and fellow guests.

If you have time we'd recommend you stay an extra night so you can enjoy the spa room, have lunch/tea in the attached tea-room and relax in the lovely sunroom or garden. We were disappointed not to have enough time to do these things, as we are sure they would be most enjoyable, judging by our experience of rest of the B&B!

Good, rural location. Very close to Truro and not far from the highway for touring. Maarten was very knowledgeable/helpful with local restaurants and itinerary hints too.

We have never given 5 stars on TA before but this place simply can't improve!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 247 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

Nel and Maarten are wonderful hosts in a B & B that has many amenities. Greeted warmly by them, you are shown a spacious, clean, nicely appointed room. Lovely gardens, a spa, comfortable sitting and breakfast rooms made for enjoyable times with Nel, Maarten, and fellow guests. We stayed three nights, using The Baker's Chest as a hub for touring Halifax, Peggy's Cove, and several of the scenic trails. Breakfast was served at a mutually convenient time, with a different, delicious meal each morning. Be sure to try the Peperkoek, baked by Maarten. I think I consumed in three days that which he baked for the week! (Since our trip there, I have found a comparable recipe and bake it weekly.)
Nel and Maarten were most helpful with our daily journeys, pointing out places to see that would have otherwise been missed, and were beautiful spots we are pleased to have seen.
While the B&B is not in the center of town, it is in a quiet location, two minutes from nice restaurants, the highway, and the Tidal Bore. This was our first B&B experience - a treat thanks to the gracious hosts Nel and Maarten.
A stay at The Baker's Chest will be a source of pleasant memories of your trip to Nova Scotia.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank HasCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Maarten & Nelly were great hosts. Their B&B was immaculate and the breakfast was great! We enjoyed our visit with them and they were most helpful in suggesting other travel advice. The nicest couple and well behaved dog you ever want to meet all the way from Holland now in the B&B and Tea room business.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelAsandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

The Baker's Chest B&B is truly a wonderful experience! Maarten and Nelly were just plain fun to be around. They came recently from the Netherlands so we were intrigued by their story......why they came to Novia Scotia and how it compares to Holland. We are of Dutch decent ourselves so we found their experiences especially interesting.

When we arrived, Marteen and Nellie invited us to sit with them out in the patio and share a drink with them. They were so relaxed..... two very nice people.

Our room was huge and everything about it was spotlessly clean.

Marteen's baked bread was a special treat.

This was one of our favorite b and b's in Novia Scotia!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Skipper4888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2006

The Dutch owners Maarten and Nelly took over the B&B in August this year, fulfilling themselves a dream (the pre-owners had to cease for health reasons).

It's a very comfortable B&B and Maarten and Nelly are very hospitable and helpful.

We stayed in the spacy Estey-Room with a very large and comfortable king size bed and sitting corner.

After check-in Maarten offered us a drink of our choice which we could have on the patio, together with other guests. The hosts love talking with their guests and are always ready for a talk without being obtrusive. Also their dog Dico is very friendly.

Breakfast was a great experience. Nelly loves trying out new recipes. During the three days of our stay there was always something different each morning. The starter was a fruit dish (e.g. fruit salad with yoghurt or apple crumble), followed by a hot dish, e.g. savoury crepes filled with cheese, french toast with ham or egg and ham tart, always accompanied by freshly baked scones or muffins (different muffins each day). One day Nelly even prepared us a box with scones and muffins, together with butter and knives, to take with us on our day trip. And when we had some bread and cheese for our dinner, Maarten offered us a glass of wine and even washed up or dishes.

Also we can highly recommend the B&B's tearoom 'Hi Note' for a light lunch (we enjoyed e.g. seafood chowder, salmon cake and banoffee). But most of the time during the day you will explore the beautiful surroundings, e.g. wonderful Cape d'Or (Maarten and Nelly gave as useful tips).

This was the nicest B&B during our 3-weeks Nova Scotia trip and we would have loved to stay some more days.

The only little disadvantage were a few trains passing at night (might be a problem if you have a light sleep).

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank susi862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Good quality B&B and tearoom. Run by a recently emigrated Dutch couple who took over from the previous owner of Dutch origin (B&B was called The Organery, the Tearoom Hi-Note). Spacious room, nicely decorated. No traffic noise but the railway can be heard (in the rare event of a train).
Owners try to get all guests at the table for breakfast at the same time and participate in the interaction. One will find that more often in this part of Canada. For us, this is the added value of a B&B.
Dinner tip: Kegger's Ale house with live music.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank goffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

The Baker's Chest B&B was recently known as At The Organery B&B, and has undergone a change in ownership. No worries, this is not a reflection of quality or cleanliness issues, simply the retirement of the former owners. The new owners are Maarten and Nelly Schuurmans, along with their friendly dog Deeko.

Maarten greeted us upon check-in with an offer of a drink of our choice (beer, wine, soft drink..). He is ready with recommendations for dinner and local sites of interests. Friendly without being overbearing, it was a pleasure just sitting and chatting with Nelly and him in the evenings.

My wife and I stayed in the Estey room. This is the largest of the four rooms, with a king size bed, seating area, and separate bathroom. Frankly, the room was larger than we anticipated for the price, and we could not have been more pleased. The room featured antiques and was spotlessly clean and quiet.

Breakfast was not at a set time, and we were able to select a time of our choosing separate of the other guests. Each morning, breakfast was a two course affair. A first course of freshly baked scones and muffins with fruit, followed by a second course of heartier fare. A wonderful ham and egg tart was served the first morning, and the second morning featured crepes stuffed with crumbled bacon and eggs.

This was our most memorable stay of our 9-day trip in Nova Scotia, and we left wishing we had somehow planned for a few more nights at this wonderful B&B.

Truro does have some trains that pass through at night. We did not find this a bother, although some light sleepers may be awakened.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JAG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
4.2 mi away
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eagle's Landing B&B
Eagle's Landing B&B
#6 of 6 in Truro
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B

Address: 53 Farnham Rd, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 2X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range: $108 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker's Chest Tearoom And B&B Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing