We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely way to spend the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely way to spend the night”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From our warm greetings from Anne upon arrival, to viewing our lovely suite with balcony, it was truly a wonderful stay. The other guests were also enjoyable, and the breakfast "chef", Larry, outdid himself. Their hospitality, and spotless accommodations made this one of our favorite stays, and look forward to returning again.
E & H, Asheville, NC

Room Tip: The master suite with hot tub and balcony was lovely. The king bed very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHU7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
191
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Anne and Larry were gracious and helpful. Truro is a good place from which to see many things, primarily the Tidal Bore, a glimpse at the 16 foot tides of the Bay of Fundy. Roadside Willie's is a good place to eat, with the adjacent bowling alley very entertaining, whether you bowl yourself or just watch

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only stayed one night with Anne and Larry but had a really interesting evening thanks to them and their other guests.

The accommodation and facilities are first rate. There were many alternatives for the 'main' at breakfast, but if you trust Anne she also likes to offer her chef's choice which remains a secret until it is served. Fantastic; and the secret will remain with us.

Should we ever be in the area of Truro again we would go straight to the Tulip and Thistle for accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tulips and Thistle B&B on our first night of a five night motorcycle vacation in Nova Scotia. We arrived later than expected (about 10:30 that evening) and were greeted by our charming host and hostess, Larry and Ann. They offered us their garage for storing the bike, which we were truly grateful. As anyone that rides a motorbike will appreciate. After an easy check in and good conversation we went to our room. Although it was the smallest room in the house, it was cozy and had all the amenities needed. We did sneak a peak at the other rooms, which were larger and as beautifully decorated and if you were staying longer than one night you might prefer. But the size of the room was not important to us, what counted more was a comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was the best I had on the trip. My husband also commented on the good food. There was a variety to choose from but I chose the chef's special which was Eggs Benedict. I must admit I love Eggs Benedict and have tasted many but none as good as Ann's. You have to understand breakfast was not your normal get up and go breakfast. We started with fresh fruit and yogurt, fresh juice, tea or coffee and then the tastiest breakfast ever. The house itself is wonderfully decorated and I only wish that we had been there earlier in the evening to sit out on the porch. Ann and Larry really made the stay even more comfortable with their warmth and exuberance. We will certainly revisit next time we visit Nova Scotia. Go and visit yourself, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg/Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ann & Larry were perfect hosts for our first, and hopefully not last, stay with them. We arrived later than planned (after dark) and had a little trouble with our GPS in finding Tulips and Thistle but were warmly welcomed when we got there. We enjoyed a wonderful quiet rest and a fantastic breakfast, visiting with other guests and our hosts. My wife, who has a gluten intolerance for foods was accommodated very nicely.

Room Tip: Book ahead so you are not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we booked this B&B on the recommendation of a Scottish couple we had met at a B& B a few days earlier and we could not have been happier. Everything from the super clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable room, the amazing breakfast and the warm and friendly hosts, Ann and Larry, made this the most enjoyable B&B experience of our 3 week Maritimes trip. Alas we only stay one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1941Nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGETOWN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were on route to the Canada Senior Games in Sydney and found the Tulips and Thistle on-line. Staying with Ann and Larry was just our second B&B experience! They were so warm and friendly, it was like staying with close friends. Their home was spotless and the breakfast was simply outstanding!. Far better than you will enjoy in most 5***** restaurants! Ann and Larry provided helpful information and good ideas for dining out! We had a good rest and a delicious breakfast! Ann's homemade rhubarb sause was just like my Mom used to make!
We would not hesitate to stay at the Tulips and Thistle again if we were in the Truro area!
John & Betty, Georgetown Ontario

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
328 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
4.2 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
5.4 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 913 Pictou Road, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulips And Thistle Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing