We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were on route to the Canada Senior Games in Sydney and found the Tulips and Thistle on-line. Staying with Ann and Larry was just our second B&B experience! They were so warm and friendly, it was like staying with close friends. Their home was spotless and the breakfast was simply outstanding!. Far better than you will enjoy in most 5***** restaurants! Ann and Larry provided helpful information and good ideas for dining out! We had a good rest and a delicious breakfast! Ann's homemade rhubarb sause was just like my Mom used to make!
We would not hesitate to stay at the Tulips and Thistle again if we were in the Truro area!
John & Betty, Georgetown Ontario

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 290 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our accommodations and hosts were everything I expect In genuine Nova Scotia hospitality. The Master suite was spacious and so welcoming my wife immediately settled in for a nap when we arrived (she later threatened to steal the bed : ) The next morning Ann served up a delicious down-home breakfast, while she and Larry both joined the table chat in a easy way that indicated a genuine interest in, and enjoyment of, their guests. The topper, for us however, was that Ann insisted in giving us big hugs before we left, because "You're down east now." This is a woman who was born to be a host. We felt less like guests and more like new friends.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This B & B ist really perfect. Wonderful house and garden and nice rooms. The hosts are helpful and very friendly amd the breakfast is delicious. We enjoiyed our stay there and had a lot of very interesting talks with the hosts and the other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielef148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

In June we were on our way back to the US and decided to stop for the night. Called a B&B (must have been higher up in the alphabet) and they were full, but the proprietor said she could "confidently refer us to Tulips and Thistle B&B." We were more than pleased with T&T. Our room was small but comfortable, everything lovely and clean. Ann and Larry are great hosts And breakfast was WONderful!! We plan to stop at Tulips and Thistle on a future trip to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeF60895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The owners, Ann and Larry, have the type of personalities that makes one feel immediately comfortable. In turn, the guests feel they belong as if the house were their own. We strolled the gardens admiring the flowers and later had good conversations with other guests in the living room. Breakfast consisted of four choices entrees, if you could not decide, Ann would serve the "Chef's Surprise". Of the five B&B that we stayed while in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, this way by far the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our first night in Canada. We arrived from a long flight and had a very warm welcome. The house is wonderful, the rooms are wonderful, Larry and Ann are wonderful and the breakfast is phenomenal! Enjoyed being there a lot.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The owners were extremely friendly and it was good to relax at the end of the day with other travellers in the beautiful living room. My room was the master suite, and while the bed was comfortable, and the room well appointed, my only complaint was that with all the windows it was hard to get the shades to close to eliminate the light. But that is me, wanting a very dark room at night. The breakfast was superb in the morning. Go for the Chef special! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
347 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
5.4 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 913 Pictou Road, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range: $106 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulips And Thistle Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing