We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Beautiful house, Excellent rooms - quiet, clean, comfortable.
Really fun conversations with the owners and other guests.
Great breakfast - fit for a king and queen!
Definitely a great choice to make.

Ann and Larry were very knowledgeable about steering us to the
right places to eat, and provided other information willingly.
So friendly - felt like we had been friends for a long time, instead
of first-timers to Nova Scotia. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EstelleRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
188
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location was quiet. The rooms were attractive and comfortable, with eye-focusing duvets and window treatments hand-sewn by our talented hostess. The delicious breakfast menu had so many choices that it was difficult to make a selection! Ann & Larry did not scrimp in any manner to provide a welcoming B & B.

Room Tip: Travelers would enjoy any of the four attractive rooms. It would be difficult to choose between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a two-year-old with us and Ann and Larry were most accommodating. They had toys, a playpen and a high-chair. Our room was spacious, lots of windows, an en-suite bathroom and duvet comforters. We felt at home. We highly recommend this b&b to anyone making a stop in Truro!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay in this delightful B & B. My husband and I visit here each year to celebrate our anniversary. We usually stay in the Master Suite but have also stayed in the Fergus Room. Both are spotless and tastefully decorated. Ann and Larry gave precise directions to an area of the province we went to for a day-trip. They make each and every guest feel special. The breakfasts are always first rate with an abundance of fresh fruit, coffee, homemade preserves, jams, pastries and traditional fare such as pancakes, bacon, eggs, fried potatoes, and a "Chef's Choice" which is sure to please. The sitting areas of the house are inviting and comfortable. The grounds are always well-kept.
It is obvious that this couple enjoy what they do and truly make each visitor feel at home.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is spacious and has a balcony; the Fergus Room is roomy and allows for 1 person to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolalou12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Truro on our last night in NS since it was close to the airport. Ann and Larry were the consummate hosts. Within minutes we felt like we were visiting a friend's house. The had us and other guests enjoying our evening in the sitting room with great conversation that continued thru out our stay. The room was so very clean. In St Louis MO they have a term "Scrubby Dutch" to indicate an especially clean house and this was a place that meets that criteria. Breakfast was unbelievably great. The blueberry pancakes were fantastic and the country breakfast kept me in good shape for a whole day of travel. They indicate that they often have return business, and we hope to jpin that group.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ann and Larry were gracious hosts. They were very helpful with directions to restaurants and sights. The breakfast choices were delicious. The place is easy to find and was quite convenient for the exploration we did in the area.

Room Tip: The room was quiet with no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Truro for one night on our way around Nova Scotia on a 17 night driving tour. We were very tired when we arrived and had eaten an early dinner. The room was perfect for a rest. We were welcomed, shown our room and given the menu choices for breakfast. When we arrived, scones were in the oven, so you can imagine the yummy smells coming from the kitchen. Everything was spotless and we were given plenty of privacy. At breakfast we were told about the tree sculptors in town and given some suggestions for our trip toward Annapolis Royal. We ended up going through Truro two more times but not for overnight stays. It is definitely a good hub for seeing parts of Nova Scotia. Wonderful host and hostess! Breakfast was yummy! I could not wait to get a scone!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
0.0 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 913 Pictou Road, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulips And Thistle Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing