We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Truro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Courtney, B. C.
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Attended a family reunion at the BW Glengarry and can't say enough good things from check in to check out! The front desk staff were super friendly, very knowlegable about the area and gave us great tips of things to see and do. We were given an upgrade without even requesting it! The dining room and coffee shop staff were wonderful and the food was great - you could tell the staff in the whole hotel enjoyed their work! We enjoyed a relaxing swim in the inside pool and whirlpool AFTER having spent an afternoon swimming and lounging around the outdoor pool. The intimate piano bar ended a full day before our very well planned and fun filled days of the reunion. The meals were fabulous that banquet staff served us. We will definately return to the BW Glengarry Hotel when we make our next plans east. Also will be telling our friends travelling that way!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and guest room
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I didn't like!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BJBCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    83
    36
    12
    35
See reviews for
76
77
15
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in July and it was fantastic.
Check in went smoothly, the staff very courteous and friendly.
The dining room/coffee shop are lovely and the wait staff were great. Great weather to enjoy the outdoor pool as well. The A/C kept our room comfy cool on warm days. We were able to use the computer in the lobby to check our plane flights as well.

All around great experience and we will definately be back our next time through.

  • Liked — great staff, great food
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluenoser_Min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed here while visiting family in the area. We had driven in from Charlottetown and when we arrived we were able to check in early and the front desk staff were quick and courteous.
The room was clean and both the bed and chair were comfortable. The bathroom was average sized. The air conditioner in our room worked fine and kept the room cool all night. The colours and linen in the room were a little dated.
My wife used the guest computer in the lobby and the pool area. Everything was about what you would expect for a Best Western in a small town.
We will likely stay here again.

  • Liked — It was quiet the night we were there(Sunday)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at this hotel while attending a conference in Truro. We had a 4.5 hour drive (includes a 1 hour stop for dinner) after being up since 6 a.m. and working all day, so when we arrived at 8:30 p.m. we were exhausted and looking forward to the peace and quiet of a hotel room.

What a shock! First we could smell cigarrette smoke inside the corridor on the way to our room. Then inside the room there was a door which opened onto an adjoing door in the room next to us. Even with the doors locked and bolted you could hear every laugh, grunt, belch and every other sound coming from the next room, and they did lots of loud laughing.

So much for a peaceful evening. When I complaied at the front desk, they said there was nothing they could do and the hotel was booked so we couldn't have another room.

Well, we will never again want another room at the Best Western Glengarry. Next conference we'll stay at a different hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Noise, inconsiderate staff.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Soulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Truro hotels

New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Very very disappointed with this stay. Very expensive for a subpar motel room, stayed in nicer hotels for less money. We arrived early for our convention-meeting, but we were still checked-in into the "overflow" adjacent motel building; although many rooms still available in main building. Staff did not have a friendly attitude at all. Toilet overflowed, heat broken, a/c did not cool property. Tired, dingy guestrooms from the 70's-80's. Bed sheets were old & uncomfortable. A total disappointment, it was my first Best Western stay and will probably be my last. I only stayed here because I was attending a conference. I usually stay in higher end hotels; Sheraton, Marriott & Hilton, so I might not be used to "no tell" motels... BTW, the restaurant was nice, food was good, price was reasonable and the staff was friendly; unlike the rest of the staff at this place.

  • Liked — Location & Restaurant was OK
  • Disliked — Staff & Guestrooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This was a brief overnight stop for us on our way from Halifax Airport to PEI. The property was clean and the staff was very friendly. The grounds seemed nice, particularly the outdoor pool area. Our room was adequately sized and was clean. We did not eat at the hotel, other than to take some muffins off the morning breakfast buffet for our trip to Pictou. I was quite pleased with the value and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stayed at The Glengarry on the way back to Ontario because of the excellent treatment we recieved at the Best Western on the way down in Grand Saulte, N.B. The resemblance remains in the title "Best Western". I found the staff extremely smarmy and unhelpful. We were quoted one price by the call centre and another price when we arrived. The front desk manager explained that "those people in booking often get the rate quotes wrong." Misrepresentation. The room was a real tired affair with an horendous smell. The air conditioner sounded like a bunch of transport trucks on the 401. I left a shirt there and called back to see if they could send it to me. Heather laughed and said that all items not claimed in 7 days were automatically sent to the Goodwill and it was on the paper I signed. These people need a serious attitiude adustment. Very "unmaritime" in their hospitality.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — continue on to Halifax or Moncton
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassionateTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Truro - Glengarry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Truro - Glengarry

Property: Best Western Truro - Glengarry
Address: 150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Truro - Glengarry 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Truro - Glengarry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro - Glengarry Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing