We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An egg with no salt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Truro
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An egg with no salt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed just one night, 12th September, had a dog so we were accommodated in the old motel part that affords no indoor communication to the Hotel itself and dining room, pool, etc. $128 plus tax. Room was just fine but the wifi did not work, was told that the motel type accommodation did not have good wifi. Went for a drink in the bar at 8.00pm but was told that it was closed.
An hotel with no bar is like an egg with no salt. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluenoseNorthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear BluenoseNorthSydney: We appreciate you taking time to review our property. Thank you for your kind positive comments on certain areas of our property. We take all comments to help improve our facility and service to our guests. You were in our exterior building which is pet friendly. I checked into your complaint about WIFI and we haven't been able to figure out what went wrong because we have Fibre Op and top of the lline hard wired and WIFI in both buildings. Unfortunately, you were here on the evening that our bar was closed for a private function - sorry we weren't able to provide this service to you but hopefully, the next time you are in the area you will try us again and hopefully, our extensive renovations that are taking place on our exterior building will be complete. Thank you again. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    81
    36
    12
    35
See reviews for
76
77
15
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Friendly,helpful staff but disappointed to be put in the old, back motel instead of in the new building. I presume it is because we had a pet. The beds were comfortable and the linens upgraded but the bathroom did not meet Best Western standards. Breakfast was good in the hotel's
restaurant, either a buffet or order off the menu as part of your room price. There was no pet fee but the price was the same as the Best Western we stayed at the night before in Saint John that was much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieforthebecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear SRConnelly - Thank you for your review of our property. Yes, you were in our pet friendly building and I'm sorry it didn't live up to your expectations. We are in the process of completely renovating that building inside and out but haven't completed all guest rooms as yet - new vanities, drapes, sheers, linens etc. We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and hope that if you are in our area again you will see all our improvements. Thank you again for taking time to review our property. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in a suite, two rooms and private patio. Recommended if you can run to the extra. A comfortable hotel with indoor and outdoor pools. The room was clean and spacious. King bed was excellent with great bedding and pillows. Flat screen tvs with good air/con or heating. Free breakfast which can be buffet or cooked to order. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was ok but nothing special. service was good. Help with luggage is offered. Reception desk is good. Ample parking and good wi fi. The only downside was I felt the rooms a little old fashioned and dark, could do with a makeover.

Room Tip: The suites at the back are on their own in the main building close to both pools, very quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Dunera:
We appreciate your very complimentary comments on our facility. We try hard to exceed our guests expectations and appreciate hearing when we achieve that. We are in the process of renovating in a lot of areas of the hotel so we hope, if you return to our area, you will like our many changes.
Thank you again for your very positive feedback.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived on the Friday evening after a long day out and a long drive. The hotel room was spacious and clean. Myself and my daughter went to canvas the restaurant to see if it would be good to eat there. There was a buffet, or you could order off the menu. Two things put us off, there was obviously a curry dish in the buffet as the dining room had a very overpowering curry smell, don't get me wrong I love curry (i was brought up in the middle east) but this was a sweet curry smell,sickly. Then there were the desserts all on a central table, with what looked like cheesecakes etc, but not refrigerated???? So we went out for dinner, more driving.
We got back to the hotel, we have travelled extensively with our children and this was the first time that we came upon this problem. My husband and I thought we would relax after the long day with a beer, so we went to the bar, to order a drink and take it out to the lobby to sit with our 16yr old daughter as we were a family. NoGo the only place you can have a drink is in the bar, but of course children under 19 are excluded. The front desk staff were apologetic and said we could use the back lobby, however this was not to be,as the bar tender, doing his job properly said no, it is only licensed if the back bar was open, which it wasn't. The only alternative was to order through room service at inflated prices. Apparently you could enjoy a drink in the front lobby if licensed but Best Western decided to save their money,bizzare when outside there were people walking around with cans of beer? So our solution was to walk to the nearby NSLC buy a beer and spend the night in our room so that we could have a drink and be with our daughter. Some people may say "well don't drink" but we were on a break and my husband deserved his beer! Overall room was good, breakfast was good, however ruined by not being able to sit somewhere with our daughter and have a beer. Not a family hotel. Adults only. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Canglish: Thank you for bringing to our attention the good and the problems you encountered on your recent visit.
I apologize on behalf of our whole staff the way things turned out when you tried to have a drink in our bar/lobby. Due to N. S. liquor laws we are not permitted to license a high traffic public area like the reception lobby but the desk clerk was correct that you should have been able to have it in the far lobby. The laws also extend to the bar for under 19 guests. The bartender should have offered to deliver your drinks to your room, which would be the same price as if you had them in the bar. This incident has been dealt with and I assure you will not happen to another guest.
I hope you will reconsider your decision not to stay with us again as we would like to show you how great our service can be. Again, our apologies to you and your family. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to receive an upgraded room (at no additional charge) to this hotel. I was given an Executive Suite with two flat screen TVs, a powder room and large full bathroom with whirlpool tub, a king sized bed, a living room area and a private patio. After many weeks on the road it was great to have the additional space to feel more like being in an apartment than a regular hotel room. The only thing I was disappointed with about the hotel was that there was no fitness centre, just the indoor and outdoor pools. I really look forward to having the chance to work out at the end of the day and was surprised that this otherwise very well equipped hotel did not have this amenity. The staff were all very pleasant and the building was very clean and well set up. I really appreciate the attention to detail and the customer service and hope there will be a fitness room added in the future (even a treadmill, a bike, and an elliptical would suffice).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Crown Victoria: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our hotel. We upgrade our guests when we can and I'm glad you enjoyed all it had to offer. We don't have a Fitness Center due to lack of space available to put one but we do offer our guests complimentary day passes to Goodlife Fitness or Community College Health & Fitness Center, both within walking distance of the hotel. We will also be providing from the Front Desk a "Fitness In A Bag" for complimentary use in your hotel room as soon as they are available to us. Thank you again for your comments and look forward to a return visit.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a great stay. Beautiful outdoor pool, amazing front desk service however poor dining experience. I called to see what time they close and I was told it was 9 o'clock, so we were seated at 8:15. We happened to be the only ones in there and the waitress couldnt have tried to get us out faster! Where she was standing was very uncomfortable, as soon as my boyfriend put down his fork she came and retrieved his plate, then as i put my last bite in my mouth she came and took my plate while still chewing. We received our bill not 20 seconds later! As for the food im not normally fussy but neither of our dishes had any flavor. I had the chicken Alfredo and my bf had the chicken parmesan and we both agreed that out garlic bread was the best part.. i hate to leave poor service rating because the gentleman with double hip replacement (sorry i forgot your name) was over the top friendly, it was just the dining room that brings the place down

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna_870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jenna-870
Thank you for taking time to review our property and thank you for complimenting us on our facility and friendly staff.
I do apologize for your terrible service in our dining room. Your treatment was deplorable and the matter has been dealt with, believe me. However, we are sorry that we ruined what, otherwise, was a great stay. Thank you for bring all this information to our attention.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

While we enjoyed great service and found our room to very clean, we were overall dissatisfied with our recent stay at the Glengarry Best Western. Our room was one of many in a detached auxiliary building. The interior of the room is like all other 3+ star hotel rooms. The building, however, has no elevator. It also is completely separate from the main building, so guests need to walk 1-2 minutes outdoors to access the main building's dining room, swimming pool, and other amenities. That is not a problem in nice summer weather, but I would not have wanted to do walk outdoors after a swim in the winter, or during rainy weather. Overall, I felt that the rooms in the auxiliary building should have been offered at a much lower rate. Finally, there were no towels at the pool, and the complimentary breakfast buffet did not include fruit, bagels or yogurt. To sum up: professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, BUT conveniences and services were lacking for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Explorer Amy - We were very pleased to hear that you had great service and cleanliness at our property which is what our guests deserve and what we always strive for. However, I'm sorry that our two storey building was inconvenient for you - usually our staff offer an upgrade to the main building if any of the rooms are available and in your case, I'm hoping this was done. We are in the process of major renovations in this building so hopefully, soon, this won't happen to you or anyone again.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Address: 150 Willow St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing