We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delicious Taste of India in the Heart of Truro”
Review of The India Hut

The India Hut
Ranked #18 of 115 Restaurants in Truro
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: The India Hut - Authentic Indian Cuisine is the first Indian restaurant in Truro. We serve real authentic Indian dishes. Hem who is a professional electrical engineer had a strong in cooking. Working as a chef in Niagara Falls for 3 years helped him learn the nuances. We have specials everyday and we are very accommodating to your spice level. The India hut was opened in October 24 2018. Visit us to enjoy the real taste of India. We cant spell success without you :)
Restaurant details
Description: The India Hut - Authentic Indian Cuisine is the first Indian restaurant in Truro. We serve real authentic Indian dishes. Hem who is a professional electrical engineer had a strong in cooking. Working as a chef in Niagara Falls for 3 years helped him learn the nuances. We have specials everyday and we are very accommodating to your spice level. The India hut was opened in October 24 2018. Visit us to enjoy the real taste of India. We cant spell success without you :)
Reviewed April 13, 2019

If you would like to be transported to the south of India for a delicious and healthy meal then check out this intimate little restaurant in the heart of downtown Truro.The owner is a lovely electrical engineer who moved to Nova Scotia with his family from the city of Kochi, a famous area for spices and Indian cuisine. His friendly personality and his desire for you to enjoy his cuisine are evident as he regularly visits the table explaining the wonderful concoction of spices he uses and asking for your feedback. Amazing aromas of fresh cardamom and coriander come wafting out from the kitchen.The samosa appetizer is original and delicious; covered with a spicy chickpea sauce & crunchy pieces of samosa. The entrees are not too spicy with large pieces of chicken and exotic tastes that make you forget how cold it is outside the window.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skM7216AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Awsome food very tasty and homely. lovely couples who owns this buisiness provides good hospitality to the customers should defnitely try their samosa chana chaat thats the starter dish and we had three different dish two chicken dish and one vegetarian lentil dish everything was so fresh cooked perfectly full of flavors. will definitely come back when m in town again but sadly ll miss because I am not from truro.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank sibin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theindiahut, Manager at The India Hut, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Thanks so much we hope to see you again when you are in Truro ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

The atmosphere is perfect, the attention to details is impressive, the service is excellent, the food quality amounts and taste exceed expectations, we started with samosa, it's a must have. We dined on butter chicken and chicken vindaloo, followed with two desserts (one if each) we were not sure what to expect with the different desserts but they were very tasty. We will be back again.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theindiahut, Owner at The India Hut, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2019

thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

This was our first visit. The people are absolutely lovely. Their smiles and attention really added to the atmosphere. The food was truly delicious. I had the Chicken Vindaloo with rice and naan. It had just the right amount of source and the flavours were awesome. It would have been nice to have a side of Raita or lime pickles with it. My wife and I shared the two different desserts which were both excellent. And the mango lassis were to die for.

The Bollywood theme is kitschy without being over the top.

I look forward to going back and trying some of the other dishes.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank KevinF555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

the food is fresh and amazing ,the currys are awesome the samosa's are so good..customer service is second to none ,love the food we ate here twice and are going back again this week ...

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ballbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theindiahut, Owner at The India Hut, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2019

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The India Hut also viewed

 
Truro, Nova Scotia
 
Truro, Nova Scotia
 

Been to The India Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing