We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aptly named B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Truro B&B and Inns
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Aptly named B&B”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The name Suncatcher is based on all of the stained glass suncatchers and pieces, all designed and made by Gerry, throughout the house. Also noticeable are the strikingly complex and beautiful needlepoint pieces, also made by Gerry. The B&B, in a modern home, has two spacious bedrooms with very attractive en suite bathrooms. A unique extra provided by Ruth and Gerry is the opportunity to have a homemade dessert (we had a delicious pie with the flakiest of crusts) and coffee in the evening while chatting with them and the other guests. The next morning we were treated to a lovely, made-to-order breakfast of scrambled eggs and salmon. A friendly and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind memories of your stay here at Suncatcher B&B. Gerry's talents with both stained glass & needlepoint are always appreciated by our B&B guests with lots of picture taking of his creations. We are glad that you enjoyed our "team efforts" of the evening pie serving. Gerry is the pastry chef & Ruth creates the various fillings using in-season fruit whenever possible. Apple with mango-flavoured cranberries is the current favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A great welcome from Ruth & Jerry, you feel part of the family and Keltie the dog is very friendly. A lovely room - Chignecto - spacious & comfortable with roomy bathroom. Lots of stained glass round the house made by Jerry. After an evening out Ruth provides coffee with homemade dessert & plenty of chat!

Room Tip: Both rroms are comfortable and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Keltie was very pleased with himself when I read your review to him about your time at Suncatcher B&B. He never likes to be left out! We are happy that you felt so "at home" as it is important to us that our guests feel relaxed, comfortable, & well-fed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stay here every April while attending a bridge tournament. Ruth and Gerry are the friendliest of people, the room is very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
It is always great to host our returning guests over the years! We feel privileged to know that our guests enjoy Suncatcher B&B enough to stay with us whenever they are attending events in the Truro area. We look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville Ferry, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending an evening at Suncatcher B&B while in the Truro area for business. I arrived very late (sorry Gerry and Ruth)....but I was welcomed warmly and felt like I was family. I slept soooo good and was shocked to see that I slept till 7:00 AM as I never sleep past 6:00. Woke to the smell of bacon and coffee. Breakfast was perfect and prepared me for my long day of meetings. Oh yes, one other thought....Ruth and Gerry, you should consider turning that bathroom into another bedroom....it's HUGE! So many thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nova1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
We are pleased to know that you had such a restful sleep while here at Suncatcher B&B. We often get positive comments on the size of our ensuite bathrooms & we are glad to be able to offer our guests lots of towels & lots of room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We just spent a most enjoyable night and morning with Ruth and Gerry and their dog "Keltie", the owners of this great Bed and Breakfast in Truro, Nova Scotia.

Their home is very clean and well appointed with exquisite stained glass work and needlepoint that is of a quality we have never encountered elsewhere in our travels. A tour of Gerry's stained glass workshop is an experience not to be missed.

The breakfast was delicious as well as the tea and gingerbread served in the evening.

The bed was extremely comfortable with a choice of different pillows including wonderful grain pillows.

Their lovely keeshund, Keltie, was very playful, well controlled and never a problem. Also, she is trained not to go on the upper level where the guest rooms are located.

All of the above niceties are nothing compared with spending some time with Ruth and Gerry. They have travelled extensively and share many interesting stories of their lives while Gerry was a diver with the Canadian Navy.

The B & B is only about 3 minutes north of the Trans Canada Highway and 5 minutes out of Truro which not only makes it convenient but quiet for sleeping.

We are looking forward to our next visit in this area and Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast will be tops on our places to stay.

Garry and Connie Miles
Sydney, NS

Room Tip: Either room is excellent but the Bird Room has a day bed to accomodate a thrid person or a couple wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
We are glad to know how well you enjoyed your time at Suncatcher B&B. Gerry loves to give our guests a tour of his stained-glass studio & explain the process of creating in this medium. The gingerbread recipe is a family favourite; a comfort food! We look forward to hosting you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A very nice time. We were looking for a place to stay on our way back from Cape Breton to the Halifax airport. The owners were very freindly and the house (and room) were nicely decorating and comfortable. Although Truro is not very scenic, this B and B is a nice place to stay en route to scenic destinations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of your time at Suncatcher B&B, especially your use of the word "comfortable". Making our B&B guests feel both welcome & "at home" has always been a priority for us. Because of our convenient location en route to & from the Halifax airport, we often have B&B guests who do not have time to do day trips & explore the surrounding areas such as the "upper" Bay of Fundy or the Northumberland Shore. Truro also has the beautiful 1000 acre Victoria Park with hiking trails used by both locals & visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We loved the family, Ruth and Gerry, and their precious dog, Keltie. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated, the breakfast incredible, and Ruth served pie and coffee before bedtime. Gerry has a stained glass workshop in the basement that we visited, and Ruth helped us with our travel plans. Don't miss this one!
Sandra Cline

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncatcherTruro, Owner at Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We are glad to know that your stay at Suncatcher B&B is a part of your pleasant memories of your time in central Nova Scotia. Keltie sends his "thanks" too!
Our pie-making is a real "team" effort as Gerry has the pastry touch & Ruth makes the "fillings". We use local produce according to the time of the year so now during the Holiday Season it is locally made mincemeat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
292 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
113 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
2.8 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Baker's Chest Tearoom and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast

Property: Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast
Address: 25 Wile Crest Ave | Colchester County, Truro, Nova Scotia B6L 6Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Suncatcher B&B, located in a suburban area of Truro but only five minutes drive from the downtown core. Suncatcher B&B is a four-level split house built in the early 1970s. The B&B rooms are the entire upper level which allows for two large airy rooms each with a spacious four-piece ensuite. After a day of traveling and sight-seeing, my B&B guests are invited to gather in the living room for tea/coffee and home-made dessert. This is an enjoyable part of the B&B experience for me as your Host as I enjoy helping with any trip plans and recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncatcher Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing