We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Truro
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Rooms were comfortable however the bathroom was very small. The sink was just inside the bedroom door which was not what we had expected. We ate in the restaurant and were surprised at the service and quality of the food, it was excellent. Pool was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J&LSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and the comfort of the guestrooms. There are 2 wings in the hotel and it sounds like you were in the Stanfield where all the bathrooms are split. On your next visit you should try the Victoria wing, as the bathrooms are more traditional and larger. It is great that you found the service and quality of the food in our restaurant excellent. It means so much to us to hear how our customers feel about hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us! Again, many thanks and be sure to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    140
    56
    18
    8
See reviews for
80
92
9
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn was pretty standard so rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable. My two negatives are 1) the shower did not drain. My biggest pet peave is to have standing water while taking a shower. 2) no breakfast. And the. If you wanted breakfast at the hotel it was ridiculously expensive. Hotels need to provide this additional service to customers. Breakfast is pretty much a given

Otherwise, pool and fitness center were good. Location good- walk to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am pleased that you found your guestroom spacious, clean, and comfortable. Thank you for being the shower drainage to my attention. I am working with our maintenance manager to investigate the shower drainage issue and to find a solution. Our hotel is a full service Holiday Inn with a full service restaurant, so, our breakfast is an additional charge. I am happy to hear the pool and fitness center were to your liking and that you appreciate our close proximity to downtown. Again, thank you for your review, we value your time and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Customer service was excellent! After my fiancé and I drove a long way almost 900km. We were tired and needed a place to sleep. It was early morning and they had the best rate in town for our time spent. They gave us a break on price as we arrived at 3 am. Gave us a complimentary late checkout! Rooms are very clean. And linens were clean and soft. Just what we needed after a long drive. Would highly recommend this place! Wish we could stay in town longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
First I must apologize for my tardy reply….sorry it took so long to respond to this fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your experience in our hotel. I am thrilled that you found our customer service was excellent! Sound like you and your fiancé appreciated the cleanliness of the guestroom and linens and the late check out after your 900km journey! We really appreciate the time it takes to write these review and your recommendation means so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel in Truro, hands down. Good location, complete fitness centre, good amenities. Pleasant staff. What more? Room was well appoint and very clean. Fidge and microwave in all rooms. Shower head is really good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our property. We do have some great amenities and I know the fridge and microwave are particularly appreciated. Our showerheads are Moen and our hot water is primarily heated with solar energy. We know there are other accommodation choices for you in our area and we are delighted that you chose to stay with us! Again, thanks for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have stayed here prior to, and after the revocations. Love the new look, very refreshing. Only issue is that the rooms and especially the bathroom, are exceptionally small. That said, if looking for a clean quiet stay, you are close to downtown, great restaurant on site, pool, and fantastic workout facility. Staff were friendly and very helpful at check in, saw a smile! Hotel itself is kind of a maze, wings on opposite sides of the desk but link up again as you go up the stairs or elevator. Parking is free and lots of it. Great location to downtown, grocery and shops within walking distance. All in all a good value for the area. Recommended and will be back!

Room Tip: Quieter if you get room facing into the back parking lot. You lose a bit of view, but no street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
It is great to get reviews from guests who stayed with us prior to our renovations in 2009. You can truly appreciate the transformation and quality of our property. It sounds like you stayed on the Stanfield Wing, which is the main part of the original hotel. The rooms on the Victoria Wing are the same décor, however, they are larger. I am happy to hear you took advantage of our restaurant, pool and fitness room. You are right about the hotel layout. It really does take time to find your way around…when you do, you will be happy you did so! We are very proud of our guest amenities and more than proud of the people who work here! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we really appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
145 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn is not a luxury hotel, and reading some of the other more negative reviews I think they gave this one a bad shake. I have travelled the world, and have just come off of 5 nights in hotels around the maritimes (from motel to 5 star places). To me, the Truro Holiday Inn was the best value for money in that trip, and would certainly be well above average in its class (3 star) based on my general experience.

Rooms were large, clean, and well kept. Parking was free, which many hotels now charge for (one of my pet peeves), as was the Internet. The staff were friendly overall, and the young lady at breakfast was phenomenal and accommodating. The front desk even arrange for me to temporarily borrow an iPhone charger from lost and found for a few minutes so I could access my travel docs from my dead phone... That's service!

The location is close to downtown, with a good pub or two just 500 yards away. I'd recommend the Italian Gino's for dinner about 1 km (1/2 mile) away if you want healthier fare.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time and energy to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you found the best value for your money at our hotel! I am very happy that you enjoyed your guestroom and you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Like you, I stay in many hotels, clean rooms and amenities are very important, however, it is the people that really make the difference. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it means so much to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville Ferry, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The room was very clean, quiet, and had all the comforts of home. If you are staying awhile, all the extra storage is a nice bonus. The decor was welcoming, current and completely relaxing. If you haven't slept on one of their Holiday Inn Express pillows... you're in for a treat. My only complaint is they don't sell them at the hotels.

Staff was informative and helpful.

Location isn't the best, as we had some difficulty finding it, but the locals were helpful with directions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the décor welcoming and relaxing! I love it that you mentioned our pillows! Each one of our beds host a ‘soft’ and a ‘firm’ pillow. So there is something for everyone! Our business really relies on guest feedback. It is the best indicator to gage customer satisfaction. So again, thank you so much for your comments and please be sure to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
113 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#4 of 8 in Truro
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Property: Holiday Inn Truro
Address: 437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing